Teacher's Aide (Female, Age 25) in bronx, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 25 who works as a Teacher's Aide in bronx, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Teacher's Aide
Salary $30,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location bronx, NY
Years Experience 1 month

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
i work for a school

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I help the teachers with the students. i also do clerical work, i escort the children in and out the school. i supervise the lunchroom.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
medical, dental, vision

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
its alright for now

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I like my job. i work with children and enjoy a fun and learning environment.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
school

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 1
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 1
Job Title: 1
Level of Responsibility: 1
The Actual Work: 1

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I went on the web searching

What was the application process?
submitted resume and cover letter

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, the hiring anager explained to me a little about the school, she gave me a tour of the school, she explained that they needed someone right away, i also had a second interview with the principal.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
what are my strenghts and weaknesses, why did I apply for the job etc.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes, I had to do role plays so the employers could see how would I handle the situation, and Iwas also put to work with a head teacher.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
definetely

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
take up at least 600 hr course in child care, or take up early chilhood in college

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
patience with children, know about child development,experience working with children etc.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes, i still do

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
get all the degrees you need to make serious money

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes because I plan to open up a daycare center in the future

What are your current career goals?
opening up a daycare center once i get more hands on experience and learn about owning a business.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
you should try it

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Child care provider 4 years 250.00 weekly per customer i took care of children in my home. I prepared meals, took out on field trips, I provided a learning environment. Toilet trained…
Prior Job 2 clerical Assistant 2 years 300.00 wkly clerical tasks

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
n/a Hostos community college office administration
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
99 Caliber Training Istitute Nanny/Child Care

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.