Adoption Coordinator 

(Female, Age 37) from Peabody, MA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 37 who works as a Adoption Coordinator in Peabody, MA. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Adoption Coordinator
Salary $15,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 20
Company Size (not answered)
Location Peabody, MA
Years Experience 1 month

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
A small not-for-profit feline rescue organization who shelters abondoned or surrendered cats. They also provide a feral cat spay-neuter program and a feral cat feeding program as well as a mobile unit that does low-cost spay/neuter and vaccinations.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I work for a non-profit feline rescue organization. I work out of a well know national pet store and care for up to 12 felines. I assist potential adopters with the process from choosing the right animal to approving the application. I also manage a pool of 25 volunteers who make sure the cats are cared for twice each day.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
as a pt employee, no health benefits or retirement but earn 1 day per month for vacation and 5 sick days

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I can’t believe I get paid for what I do!

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I am stationed alone but have lots of interaction with the public. I also interact with the veterinarian. I like this about my job.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 4
Benefits: 6
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 1

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Internet posting

What was the application process?
submitted resume, had one interview and got the job, very easy.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. It was very casual and took place at the pet store. It was more informative than anything else but the conversation was structured in such a way that it was very easy. It was one on one.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
It was more of a back and forth conversation about working style, experience and experience with cats in particular.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes. A one day one on one with my supervisor and lots of hands on experience.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No. I was an English major in college and never expected to be working with animals, but I love it.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Make sure you like animals, can stand a smelly environment and don’y mind getting a little scratched up now and then.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Must be outgoing personality. Have the ability to say no. Must be able to interact with all different types of personalities. Must be organized.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Don’t get too attached to the animals. It is easy to do but you must remain neutral as it is best for all involved.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
It is now. I hope to gain skills in the vet tech aspect of the field and go from there.

What are your current career goals?
To continue to work with animals and be able to support myself doing it.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Just go for it!

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Phlebotomist 1 year 14.35/hr draawing blood from donors
Prior Job 2 Director 2 years 50000 solicited finacial gifts from prospective dodnors.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.5 Merrimack English/Sociology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)