Cashier/Cook (Female, Age 44) in Flatgap, KY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 44 who works as a Cashier/Cook in Flatgap, KY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleCashier/Cook
Salary$15,300
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationFlatgap, KY
Years Experience1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
i work for a mom and pop convience store/gas station food service. we do breakfast, lunch, dinner small catering as well as sell all manner of convience product.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
run cash register, cook, clean.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under. make 10 cents above state min. but i love it never the less.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes. coworkers and customers. it’s the best part of my job.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
convience store/gas station. i likej the regulars that come in. and meeting new people as well.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 6
Benefits: 3
Hours: 8
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 1
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am
9am to 10am
10am to 11am
11am to 12pm
12pm to 1pmtween 1 and 2 i get to work fill out lottery form, ring people up, check breakfast waste and do some dishes.
1pm to 2pmcook, ring people up
2pm to 3pmcook, ring people up
3pm to 4pmdishes ring
4pm to 5pmring people maybe cook, dishes
5pm to 6pmsame
6pm to 7pm6 we close the main kitchen. clean clean clean
7pm to 8pmring people up
8pm to 9pmring people up
9pm to 10pmnine count waste for lunch/dinner final dishes. lottery paperwork. close store at 10. go home.
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
saw a sign and put in app. went back day after day for a year till they called.

What was the application process?
put in a application, paper, nice and easy.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes intervied by owner. was honest and eager.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
why i wanted to work there, what i did in the past. how my 10 years previous convience store work would help. why i hated mcdonalds.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes. they taught me everything a nice pace.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
just from other employees and manager. how to run the lottery machine and how to cook their food.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
had business training and management training which helped me understand why my managers wanted things done a certain way.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
i put in app. after app. nagged them till they hired me. i was working at mcdonalds after moving from another state, but loved working convience stores and liked this one so i just kept trying and showing up till they needed someone and decided to try me out.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
friendly, patient, willing to “get dirty”.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
not realy. im a colage graduate but i don’t realy need it here.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
slow and easy. be friendly to customers.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yea. i’m old and done with moving up. just want to pay bills and be happy. had the rat race in Ny and ohio. don’t miss it.

What are your current career goals?
maybe be manager later on, but only if the current one retired cause i love her to death. does a great job.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
sometimes being happy to go to work is more important than the money you bring home

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1crew1 year6.25cook/ assembly busciut roller
Prior Job 2manager10 years14 dollars an hourran a gas station/ convience store/ ice cream polar.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
katherine gibbsassociated
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.