Staff Accountant (Female, Age 25) in hacienda heights, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 25 who works as a Staff Accountant in hacienda heights, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Staff Accountant
Salary $50,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location hacienda heights, CA
Years Experience 2 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
aerospace, 100 employees

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
financial statements, balance bank to book, reports,

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
23 days vacation, 401k, medical, dental, vision

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
a bit under.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
i like having my own office, i work pretty much by myself.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am NA
8am to 9am get into the door. i make my morning coffee. check out the morning news and email. start daily bank rec work. pull out spreadsheet and login to bank website. print out necessary documents. make wire transfers if necessary and record in GL. make sure all 3 accounts bank to book balance to zero
9am to 10am possibly stll doing bank rec… apply incoming wire transfers from customers on to open invoice. print out payment and invoice and close open invoice. file print outs in cash book and post to GL.
10am to 11am smoke break for 10 mins. come back to check email to see if my boss needs me to do a report/analysis on inventory or work in progress or whatever.
11am to 12pm work on SQL that i’m creating for inventory. pull out database in access and mess with forumals and tables.
12pm to 1pm lunch time.
1pm to 2pm work on end of month bank balances and payroll if necessary depending on the day of the month. pull out ADP payroll info and begin balancing process. make sure journal entries are balanced. then enter into GL. print out general journal entries and file.
2pm to 3pm organize file or whatever needs to be done. i dont have set daily tasks. it take my tasks as i am assigned. my only daily task is the morning bank rec and that is always the first thing i do every morning.
3pm to 4pm smoke break for 10 mins. snack time. i eat my apple. surf the web. answer some emails. taking it easy only 1 more hour to kill.
4pm to 5pm if no new tasks are assigned to me then i just surf the web until its time to go home.
5pm to 6pm time to go home.
6pm to 7pm na
7pm to 8pm na
8pm to 9pm na
9pm to 10pm na
10pm to 11pm na
11pm to 12am na

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
my professor at school emailed me

What was the application process?
emailed the company a cover letter and resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, 1 interviews, 2 interviewers.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
what i did in my pervious job, why do i want to leave my job, if i know how to do “this and that”, how much money do i want to make, do i know excel and access,

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
no, she just showed me where to pull the data i needed for my reports.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
no, its basically stuff i learned in school and experience from my previous job

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
very much, if it wasnt for my educational background i dont think i would have gotten this job in the first place.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
NA

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
look online

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
college degree, accounting knowledge

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes, or you wouldnt know what to do with some of the accounts and the basic concept of “balancing”

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
learn as much as you can and take some accounting classes at a local university

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, this is my career track, accounting is my major, this is what i want to do for the rest of my life.

What are your current career goals?
make more money, learn more about cost accounting, work my way up

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 ar staff 2.5 years 30000 customer/bank clearning, bank rec, chargeback/reversal clearling and entry
Prior Job 2 staff accountant 2 month 40000 journal entries, financial statements, bank recs, analysis

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3 csu pomona accounting
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.