Store Associate (Female, Age 18) in rock hill, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 18 who works as a Store Associate in rock hill, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Store Associate
Salary
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size (not answered)
Location rock hill, NY
Years Experience 1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
A large company that has many stores around the U.S. Retail, sells men’s, women’s, and children’s clothing, as well as cosmetics.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Cleaning dressing rooms, organize clothing racks, attend to customers.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
None

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, my job does require me to work with others on a daily basis. I love this about my job. I’m a very friendly and social person, so being able to help and talk to others is a big win for me.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Store. I like that there’s a lot of room to move around; therefore, a lot of people, most of the time, to help out.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Woke up, got ready for work, had breakfast, fed my pets, left for work.
8am to 9am I got to work and had a morning meeting in which we discussed confidential information, and ideas of how to organize some incoming items, also ideas of how to get more customers on the weekdays.
9am to 10am Worked in women’s cleaning the dressing rooms, fixing the clothing racks, and helping customers.
10am to 11am Continued to work in women’s, was called to juniors for some assistance with a long line of customers.
11am to 12pm Had my lunch break at 12.
12pm to 1pm Finished my lunch break, then went back to women’s to continue through the work day.
1pm to 2pm Tidied up the dressing rooms again, helped customers chose clothing and gave opinions when prompted. Checked out customers on register.
2pm to 3pm Organized the clothing racks again.
3pm to 4pm Went home.
4pm to 5pm Got home around 4:45, then began cleaning around the house.
5pm to 6pm Fed my pets a 6
6pm to 7pm Made dinner and sat down to watch tv around 7.
7pm to 8pm Began doing some work online, looking for new, better jobs, and replying to e-mails.
8pm to 9pm Continued working.
9pm to 10pm Went to bed at 10.
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Internet

What was the application process?
Submit resume and personal information.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, they asked questions about myself and my knowledge of the store.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
How well would you say you work in a team environment? Are you good with people?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I feel very well prepared.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, I was taught how to use the cash register, where everything belongs, who to contact when necessary, how to handle angry customers.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I believe my educational background is a bit high-end for my current job. I have an Associates degree.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend them to create a great resume and get a few professional friends to look it over and give you their opinions.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Being very open to working with others and good at problem solving would be a huge plus. Being able to multitask is a must in this job, because their’s always something to do and customers to help.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be confident, open, friendly, helpful, and most importantly responsible and hardworking.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No, I wanted to own my own business, but am currently working under others.

What are your current career goals?
I wish to own my own business.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
N/A

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Store associate 7 months N/A
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.3

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.3 N/A Business management and administration
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.