Loan Officer (Female, Age 27) in Oswego, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 27 who works as a Loan Officer in Oswego, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleLoan Officer
Salary$26,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationOswego, NY
Years Experience6 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Small credit union of less than 15 employees

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
take in, evaluate, approve and disburse loans

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with others every day of my job. Not only do I interact with others in my office, but with the customers that come into the office to do their banking.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a small office. I like it because it is new and high tech. It is quite an improvement from our last one.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amn/a
8am to 9amgo to work, do electronic postings, open credit union, wait on members
9am to 10amphone calls, wait on members process loans, handle collection accounts
10am to 11amphone calls, wait on members process loans, handle collection accounts
11am to 12pmphone calls, wait on members process loans, handle collection accounts
12pm to 1pmlunch
1pm to 2pmphone calls, wait on members process loans, handle collection accounts
2pm to 3pmphone calls, wait on members process loans, handle collection accounts
3pm to 4pmphone calls, wait on members process loans, handle collection accounts
4pm to 5pmn/a
5pm to 6pmn/a
6pm to 7pmn/a
7pm to 8pmn/a
8pm to 9pmn/a
9pm to 10pmn/a
10pm to 11pmn/a
11pm to 12amn/a

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referred by family member

What was the application process?
submitted application and resume, interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
No I did not have to interview for my current position. I was offered the job as I already worked there

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I can’t remember that far back

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes and no. Yes because I can do the things required, and no because there is no formal training and no guidelines.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
There was on the job training. I learned all of how to do my job little by little. I gained experience by doing loans while at work.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No. Because I had this job prior to my degree and most of my classes don’t translate to this job.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
I had no internship

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend researching credit analysis and perhaps taking some accounting classes from a college.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Great personal skills, being very organized and being able to look at things with an unbiased and unemotinal opinion

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
no

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
start out small and work your way up

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Sort of. It is in the business field, just not accounting.

What are your current career goals?
I would like to manage the credit union one day

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1member service rep4.5 years16000waited on members
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.1

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.54SUNY-OswegoAccounting
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.