Medical Transcription Quality Assurance (Female, Age 22) in fort wayne, IN

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 22 who works as a Medical Transcription Quality Assurance in fort wayne, IN. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleMedical Transcription Quality Assurance
Salary$60,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
Locationfort wayne, IN
Years Experience1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a growing business in medical transcription. We are currently using FTP sites via the internet to recieve our daily work.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I get sent medical trasncripts and i proof read them word by word. Then i make sure there are no errors and send them back.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes i work with many people. Yes i like it.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Home but we have a virtual office and keep in contact all day via msn live messenger and other programs.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 7
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amSign into windows live messenger. I then ask if my folders ready for me to take. I start to download the work for the day.
8am to 9amI am working document by document and listening to the corresponding audio to make sure of no mistakes.
9am to 10amI am working document by document and listening to the corresponding audio to make sure of no mistakes.
10am to 11amI am working document by document and listening to the corresponding audio to make sure of no mistakes.
11am to 12pmI am working document by document and listening to the corresponding audio to make sure of no mistakes.
12pm to 1pmI am working document by document and listening to the corresponding audio to make sure of no mistakes.
1pm to 2pmNow that i have goten my wok done I go and recheck everything to assure its correct. Then I let my supervisor know that I am done and they check my work,
2pm to 3pmDone working untill next day.
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Refferal

What was the application process?
electronic app

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
no

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
what computer skills i had and what my work history was

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes i had to do practice files for days and they checked them to make sure of accuracy

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No i already knew what to do

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes i have an internship in office management

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Be very professional and have a good work ethic. Be promp and very accurate.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Computer,typing,general medical terminology,people skills,quick thinking,problem solving,multi tasking and originazational.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Just give 110% all the time.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes

What are your current career goals?
To work and move up where i currently am

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Its great and rewarding.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Quality Assurance5 months1 cent a line
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.9

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.