High School Business Teacher (Male, Age 53) in Chattanooga, TN

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 53 who works as a High School Business Teacher in Chattanooga, TN. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleHigh School Business Teacher
Salary$36,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationChattanooga, TN
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for the county school system. It has over 5 thousand or more employees. I work at a high school with about 75 faculty and staff.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am responsible for teaching 4 classes that contain 9th thru 12th graders. I teach business related courses and computers. I am responsible for day to day teaching and class management. I also assist with other duties during the week in the building.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Summer vacation (2 months), 2 weeks for Christimas, sick leave accrues monthly, health ins is PPO, retirement is state and private.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
All teachers are under compensated.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I deal with people all day and enjoy having that interaction. It is fun and ever changing as people have different things happening. There is always the unexpected.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
We share ideas and suggestions on lessons and working with students.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 5
Benefits: 6
Hours: 8
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 1
The Actual Work: 2

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I looked on line and talked to people that I knew in the field.

What was the application process?
I had to submit an application, resume and transcripts from my colleges.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had a group interview with 5 people from the school. It was only one interview. I also had talked with the personnel people, but it was more informational and not a real interview.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was asked about computers. I was asked if I could be flexible and work before and after school. I do not really remember any more.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
I believe that the system should do a better job with those people that come from outside education to help them adapt to the environment. We have people leave soon after coming because of the change and not being supported or helped.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I had to go back to college and take education courses. I have not really had any real training at school except for the development that all teachers get.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, my education and work has helped with what I teach and to deal with my job.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
I did not really have an internship, it was on the job learning.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Go and talk to the personnel department for a school or system. Then they should go to a local college that has an education department for review of their background. Talk to some teachers and administrators about their jobs. Go and be a substitute in a school to see how it might be.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
They need to like people and dealing with them each work day. They should be able to work with students and staff and parents. They should be organized but be flexible when things change without notice. Be able to put up with not being able to help all students.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
You need to have bachelors for education majors and masters for those coming in from other backgrounds.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be patient and do let it overwhelm you. There are others in the same position and it takes time to get familiar and comfortable with the routine.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Sort of, because I would like to get into administration.

What are your current career goals?
It is to stay in education for another 15 years and then find another career.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Not at this time.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1managment8 plus years20000I held several different management positions with the company and a different locations. Mostly I supervised employees and helped to maintain product and inventory levels to company standards.
Prior Job 2management2 plus years18000I held several management positions at various locations.I supervised employees and maintained product and inventory levels to company standards.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.1Gardner-Webb CollegeBusiness Admin/ BS
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.9Lee UIniversityMaster of Art in Teaching

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.