PCA, MA (Female, Age 27) in Laton, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 27 who works as a PCA, MA in Laton, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitlePCA, MA
Salary$17,500
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationLaton, CA
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I earn an income by providing personal care and assistance to a elderly disabled man in his home. I also do front office medical assisting and filing at my mother-in-laws pediatric office.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
As a provider, I assist client with activities of daily living, as well as light house keeping and cooking chores,I offer companionship and encourage independace by keeping him active and urge him to do things for himsself so that he doesn\’t feel or become helpless.

As a ma, I handle checking patients in and apt making, medical billing and handling of medical charts for insurance purposes and filing purposes.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
At the office I recieve some paid federal holiday, 9 days f vacation a year, and earn 2 paid sick day a month. I currently dont recieve benifits atps a care provider

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel my rate of pay is fair and to be expected. I have to earn my raises and bonuses, which makes me wanna do a better job.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
As a provider, I work directly with one person only which I like cuz it allows me to focus on his needs. As a ma I work with other staff members and not so much with the public, I like this too becuz it allows me time to think without havin totons of people aroumd.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
The #1 is my clients home and the #2 is a pediatric drs office.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 5
Benefits: 7
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 1
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amI arrived at work a lil after 7 for the first part of my split shift. We talked and had a cup of coffee and then decided what to have for breakfast. I did the cooking while he got everything ready, after eating I washed dishes and he dried them and then we went over our errands we needed to run and I helped him make a grocery list.
8am to 9amWe enjoyed a lil outside time and took a walk to the neighbors house to visit. We then came back and did a lil yard work and gardening. We got our lists out and got ready to go shopping.
9am to 10amWe left for town and decided in the car he wanted to repaint the kitchen so made a pit stop to look at paint samples and picked out a color. Then we went on to do our original shopping.
10am to 11amAfter walkin around the store for an hour we finally got everything on our list and checked out. We put gas and then decided to go to have the car washed and detailed.
11am to 12pmWhile waiting on the car to be done we walked to dennys and had some lunch and he told me a story about how he used to wake up early as a kid and help his dad around the house and work. We finished lunched and our stories and picked up the car.
12pm to 1pmWe headed home, and got everything put away. Then I helped him et his medication ready and he got ready for a nap and I went home.
1pm to 2pmN/a
2pm to 3pmN/a
3pm to 4pmN/a
4pm to 5pmN/a
5pm to 6pmI arrived back at his house this time with my kods because he always asks me to bring them cuz he enjoys playing with them and watching them play outside and talking to them. He and the kids chatted while I prepared dinner, w ate dinner and did the dishes.
6pm to 7pmWe finished the dinner dishes and went outside so he could watch the kids play and he told me stories about how they reminded him of his children when they were lil. After our outside time we came in and got everything ready for bed and got his meds ready. I took the laumdry to laundry room and he stared a load and IT called it a night so he could shower and go to bed for the night.
7pm to 8pmN/a
8pm to 9pmN/a
9pm to 10pmN/a
10pm to 11pmN/a
11pm to 12amN/a

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
both were thru referallys frm faily

What was the application process?
paper app, web app, interview and paid tranong

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes my training was excellant and very detailed.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I started by taking a cpr and first aid class and getting my cetoficates’, then I took a can glass and passed the american red cross statipng t

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes it helped me learn everything to prepare me for work.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes it helped me to learn the way that particular office is ran.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
They should first take son collage courses, particularly in C.N.A, LVN, MEDICAL ASSISTING.on some cases there are always positions open that do not require experience but you have to start at the bottom of totem polk

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
People skills, patience, caring, thoughtful and knowledable

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes, it helps in order to be higher paid.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be supportive, kind, gentle, caring and have patients,

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1ma2.5 yrs9.5Front office medical assisting and medical filing and billing
Prior Job 2in home care9 yrs10Assist elderly with adls

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3golden state business collage of medical artsmedical assisting
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
n/ahanford adult schoolc.n.a.

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.