Receptionist (Female, Age 37) in Columbia, SC

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 37 who works as a Receptionist in Columbia, SC. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleReceptionist
Salary$30,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week30
Company Size(not answered)
LocationColumbia, SC
Years Experience1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
i work for a small law firm

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
i answer the phone, type, great clients, run errands

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks vacation , health care

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes i work with clients and attorneys on a daily basis

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
small downtown law office..i like it but i dont like the commute or traffic

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 4
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amgetting ready for work
8am to 9amdriving to work
9am to 10amarrive at office ..make coffee.. begin to answer written correspondence and emails… answer phone….greet and take take information from clients..offer them a beverage and make them comfortable…
10am to 11amrun errands to courthouse or to clients offices
11am to 12pmreturn to office monitor and return phone calls..take any dictation necessary ..type letters left on dictaphone .. finish up paper work and leave for the day at twelve
12pm to 1pmleave for the day
1pm to 2pmdrive home
2pm to 3pmnot working
3pm to 4pmnot working
4pm to 5pmnot working
5pm to 6pmnot working
6pm to 7pmnot working
7pm to 8pmnot working
8pm to 9pmnot working
9pm to 10pmnot working
10pm to 11pmnot working
11pm to 12amnot working

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral from a friend

What was the application process?
submitted resume and went for interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes…the attorney i work for asked me questions about my ablity to perform the job and then asked me if i wanted to accept it

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
i was asked about my computer and typing skills …if i would be able to work the hours needed

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes….its not difficult and i had all the necessary skills

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
no….no training

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes….im probably overqualified for this job

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
i didnt have an internship experience

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
check the help wanted ads or ask other receptionists and secretaries to let you know if other law offices have vacancies

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
ability to use the computer and software programs, pleasant personality to work with clients, ability to type

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes… high school but college is preferable

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
to do the best job they can

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
no…im just doing something to work a little bit without a lot of responsiblity

What are your current career goals?
i dont have any specific career goals

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no thank you

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1receptionist2 years20000worked part time greeting clients, filing , typing
Prior Job 2teacher5 years40000fourth grade teacher

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.6university of sout carolinaeducation
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.