(Female, Age 43) from corpus christi, TX

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 43 who works as a CEO in corpus christi, TX. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title CEO
Other Compensation None Set
Company Size (not answered)
Location corpus christi, TX
Years Experience 6 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
A childcare center with approximately 300 staff and 800 clients.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am above all the staff.I also handle the bookkeeping.I oversee daily menus, and daily log reports, as well as ensuring curriculum for children is safe ,and that staff is ensuring the safety of the children at the appropriate age levels.I monitor all room monitors and cover for any missing staff.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
medical dental vision 401k, sick pay

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes I work with lots of other people.I love it, it makes my day go faster

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Its not an office.its a FUN setting for the children

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 4
Benefits: 5
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Greeting parents and clients/supervising the breakfast rush
8am to 9am greeting parents and clients/supervising the breakfast rush
9am to 10am Morning activities for children, time for me to check over the attendance logs for both staff as well as children
10am to 11am mid morning snack for children and free play time, time for me to do my walk around and then check lunch,then payroll update
11am to 12pm Storytime for children and pick up toys and then get ready for lunch, as I work up full payroll
12pm to 1pm Lunch for children, lunch for me
1pm to 2pm Naps /quiet time for children.more paperwork for me-childrens schedules,end of day reports for teachers
2pm to 3pm Children still napping, me still working on paperwork
3pm to 4pm children are now starting to be picked up by parents.I hand the progress reports with each child as they leave
4pm to 5pm Same as above
5pm to 6pm same as above
6pm to 7pm Children still being picked up, but now I and staff are also cleaning the floors, dusting, and gettig ready for tomorrows day while we wait with the last handful of children.
7pm to 8pm Last child leaves at 730pm.I turn out all lights and shut the place down and am outta there by 8pm
8pm to 9pm Goodnight
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
i cashed in 25thou frm my IRA

What was the application process?
I am the boss.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I asked myself, I said “Self?” Do u think ull be happy here?” And Self said “Absolutely!”

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Takes determination to build any company, but to start a company with lots of FUN takes lots of LOVE from ur heart

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Jesus, social skills,business administration.organizational skills, small level computer

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
i would say not extenstive college, but some in the business levels

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Take a deep breath, pray to, do u feel u could lose urself in time being around and taking care of children each and every day of the week and smile smile smile???-then that’s how u know this jobs for you…

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
I am the boss

What are your current career goals?
I believe this is going to be it

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Umm yes, whose turn is it to bring the jelly donuts??

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.