Project Manager (Female, Age 41) in raleigh, NC

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 41 who works as a Project Manager in raleigh, NC. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleProject Manager
Salary$60,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
Locationraleigh, NC
Years Experience1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I currently work for a small construction management firm. This firm employees less than ten people. These ten people perform contract work for various other firms throughout the Triangle.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
(1/2) I provide technical support services for a governmental agency. I review their vendor applications and assist companies in completing the prequalificattion questionaires. (1/2) I coordinate construction activities between the contractor, the design team and the municipality or permitting authority. I prepare construction bid documents and contracts.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
medical insurance paid by employer

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel that I am underpaid

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with others on a daily basis. Oftentimes the work is done by phone or through emails. There are occassional meetings and site visits. I do like this part of my job.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work from the company’s corporate office in Durham. This office is not currently staffed, so when I am in the office, I am alone. I dislike this part of the job, if on a recurring basis.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 7
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amN/A
8am to 9amArrived at offsite project office at 8:30 AM. I checked email/phone messages and returned calls.
9am to 10amThe manager informed me of some changes that he would be making to the current prequalification process. He asked me to flag any recurring omissions in the questionaire. Questions/areas that I had to constantly explain to contractors. I also checked with support staff to see if they had changed their filing system.
10am to 11amI pulled several applications ready to be reviewed. I reviewed forms and made phone calss as needed.
11am to 12pmSame as above. I called my manager to update him about the afternoon site visit and see if he would like to attend. (Luncheon scheduled with another firm, it was necessary that I attend, so I decded not to go).
12pm to 1pmSame as above
1pm to 2pmMEETING SCHEDULED AT 2:00 PM….I had a scheduled a meeting with a permitting authority to review our construction site. An additional municipal authority happened by the site and I showed them our progress and asked their assistance in helping us resolve an issue with the contractor.
2pm to 3pmsame as above
3pm to 4pm3:30 PM After talking to all parties and working through a solution. I went back to the office project office to finish reviewing applications for the day.
4pm to 5pmsame as above
5pm to 6pmsame as above
6pm to 7pmHeaded home…Day is over
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
The owner was a personal acquaintance of mine.

What was the application process?
I called the company owner whom I knew from a previous mutual employer.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
There was no formal interview. We met for coffee and talked about possible needs the company would have in a few weeks.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
N/A

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Currently, my role is constanting changing, so I am basically catching alot of what I do as it comes up.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I acquired a B.S. in Civil Engineering. Then I went to work for a company that promoted an 18-month training program. Now, i have attained 18 + years of experience working in varying facets of the industry.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
My education has helped, I now understand some of the theories i learned back then.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes, that’s where I learned to interact with people in a constantly changing environment.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend that they gain work their way up the company ladder and supplement this experience with an associate degree.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
people skills, technical skills, patience

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes very much so

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
I would tell them to learn the trade and leran it well. Do not get involved with the office politics, the players constantly change…but the know-how keeps you marketable.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, it helps me sharpen my skills and contact base.

What are your current career goals?
Currently looking for another position which can help up the lack of compensation. Would like to work for a larger “chain” construction outfit.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
N/A

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Transportation Engineer3 year50000Prepare Traffic Signal Plans, Utility Coordination, Obtain Permits, Project Corrdinator for Land Development Projects.
Prior Job 2Traffic Engineering Designer1 year53000Prepare Traffic Signal Design Plans

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.4

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
NCSUB.S. Civil Engineering
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.