I Am A Biology/Life Science Teacher. (Female, Age 28) in Palm Coast, FL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 28 who works as a I Am A Biology/Life Science Teacher. in Palm Coast, FL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleI Am A Biology/Life Science Teacher.
Salary$35,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationPalm Coast, FL
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for the Flagler County School District. We provide public education. The are 12 schools in our district with about 2000 employees. We have a Board of Education which oversees all of the employees.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am responsible of 5 classes of high school biology students. I need to make sure that each one passes the state fcat.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
I get full healthcare, dental and paid summer vacation, as well as all holidays.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel a little under compensated .

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
No

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
No

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income:
Benefits:
Hours:
Co-Workers:
Supervisors:
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amorganize desk, lay out daily schedule, first class begins
8am to 9amsecond class of life science begins, test is given
9am to 10amprep time, most of it is spent making copies of an upcoming unit.
10am to 11amThird class of Life science, test is given
11am to 12pmLunch and lunch duty(I monitor the students while they eat their lunch.
12pm to 1pmBiology class, gave a 40 minute lecture on cell reproduction, handed back some papers and assigned an upcoming project
1pm to 2pmspecial education meeting, discussed inclusion classroom and 3 students who are in need of extra help
2pm to 3pmBiology class, prepared a lab on cell respiration
3pm to 4pmlesson planning
4pm to 5pmMeeting with a parent
5pm to 6pmheading home
6pm to 7pmpreparing lesson plans
7pm to 8pmdone for the day
8pm to 9pmdone for the day
9pm to 10pmdone for the day
10pm to 11pmdone for the day
11pm to 12amdone for the day

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.