Optician (Female, Age 47) in Natick, MA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 47 who works as a Optician in Natick, MA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOptician
Salary$50,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationNatick, MA
Years Experience20 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a small retail optical shop. We employ only 2 people at this time, but have employed up to 4 at a time.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Opticans sell eyeglasses and contact lenses, fabricate eyeglasses, adjust and repair eyeglasses.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Small business – 3 weeks vacation, health insurance.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Fairly compensated.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with a co-worker which is quite pleasant. Working with the public can often be challengeing, as many people are unreasonable, but there are some nice folks too.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I am the store owner, so I don’t have any managers, but my staff and I work together as a team.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 4
Benefits: 6
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 2
Level of Responsibility: 1
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amAt home
8am to 9amDrive to work at 8:15 AM. Get there about 15 minutes before opening. Take out trash, turn on heat/AC, turn on lights and open for business.
9am to 10amClean up anything remaining from the night before. Check incoming faxes for information about what lab jobs are due in and prepare lab area to receive the work.
10am to 11amWait on incoming customers, get deliverys of incoming products, parcel those out to waiting jobs.
11am to 12pmStart making glasses, while waiting on incoming customer and answering phones.
12pm to 1pmLunch – while waiting on customers who come in at the same time.
1pm to 2pmMore lab work – get it all done and call those people to tell them their glasses are ready.
2pm to 3pmWait on incoming customers and answer phones.
3pm to 4pmPaperwork – sort out invoices and file, input previous day’s sales into computer and pay bills as the money allows.
4pm to 5pmSend out reminder postcards for people who need to schedule eye exam, send out bills for clients with balances, reorganize the sales floor for neatness.
5pm to 6pmVacuum, clean and try to get store in shape for the next day.
6pm to 7pmLeave.
7pm to 8pmHome
8pm to 9pmHome
9pm to 10pmBed
10pm to 11pmsleep
11pm to 12amsleep

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Bought an existing business.

What was the application process?
No process at all. knew the previous owner – just met with him to talk.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Informal interview with the previous owner of the business. In the past, because I’ve always worked for small companys, I jsut sat down for an hour or so with the business owner, gave them my resume, and talked about my skills and experience.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
None

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
I already knew exactly what this job was before I took it.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I think that I worked for 3 years as an apprentice. At that time, there were no strict rules, but now I think you need to carefully document hours worked and skills learned. I also ahd to pass a state licensing exam.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
My area of education did nothing to prepare me (sociology), but BEING educated is helpfull for any career.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
HUgely. Opticians who come out of a school only program, are usually lacking in many practical skills to perform the job. Apprenticeship is the way to go!

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
You can either go to a post highschool program for opticianry, or, depending on the state, can serve an apprecnticeship. I suggest the apprenticeship route. You can larn more about opticianry with hand-on work, and earn while you learn!

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
It’s very helpfull to be a bsically mechanical person. That helps a lot with repaire and glasses fabrication. People skills help a lot in dealing with the clientele.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
I do believe that a high school diploma is a minimum necessity – and I agree that opticans should be licensed as well!

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Try it out. Work in a store as a “frame stylist” for a while. Experience the hours – which can be tough – and the customers – which can be tougher. If you find that you enjoy it, ask your employer if they can enroll you in an apprenticeship program.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. This will be the last job I ever have.

What are your current career goals?
To make my business as successfull as it can be.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Optician/Mgr15 years35000Same as current.
Prior Job 2customer service2 years25000Handled all client interaction for a lab that manufactured eyeglass lenses. Took orders, prepared them for processing, did billing, bank deposits, handled problems.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.6

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.4Boston UBA – Sociology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.