Medical Eligibility Specialist-Mes (Female, Age 39) in Snellville, GA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 39 who works as a Medical Eligibility Specialist-Mes in Snellville, GA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleMedical Eligibility Specialist-Mes
Salary$25,786
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationSnellville, GA
Years Experience1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for the D____b County Department of Family and Childrens Services, we provide medicaid, food stamps and cash assistance. We also house CPS-child protective services as well as senior services programs. This is considered a government job.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I determine eligibilty of medicaid for the aged, blind and disabled, thus entitling my department as ABD-Medicaid.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
medical, dental, 2wks vacation, 4hrs sick lv accrued semi-mnthly, 401k, life ins., legal benefit.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
We are under compensated for all the work we do, we live chk to chk, hand to mouth and my only satisfaction comes from the people I help.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with others and I enjoy it, I like helping others met the needs of their home.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a cubical in an office, I do not like it because we say we keep clients info confidental but how can that be when clients on the other side of the wall can hear you.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 1
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amStart work at 8:00 am
8am to 9amlog on to computer(computers are slow,this takes a half an hr.) and check voice mail, check alerts (warnings about actions taking place on my case load). If not too time consuming I do all my alerts.
9am to 10amI normally work alert until 9:30, I see my first interview @ 9:30. for a recertification it can last 30 min. For a new application it can take an hour.
10am to 11amI complete paperwork portion of case after client escorted out. Next review at 10:30 til 11am.
11am to 12pmWorked up ppwrk, til 11:30, prep afternoon paperwork til 12:00.
12pm to 1pmlunch from 12-1
1pm to 2pmInterview @ 1:00, applications in afternoon take an hour.
2pm to 3pm2:00-2:30 escort client out and work up paperwork. Next interview at 3:00.
3pm to 4pmInitial application takes an hour from 3:00-4:00, escort client out.
4pm to 5pmWork up application til 4:30 and go home!
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Walked in the office and requested an application.

What was the application process?
Submitted application w/ a resume and I was called for a test and then an interview.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I was interviewed before a panel of 5 one time. the director, asst. director, a trainer, a community leader and the department head interviewed me.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I cant remember.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
No! most of what I do has been on the job training.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I trained for seven weeks for the medical portion and I trainred for 6 weeks for the food stamp portion. I spent 12 out of the 13 weeks in a hotel, going to class during the day and homewor at night. there was a test after each session.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, especially the Psych classes. I deal with a lot of personality issues.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
none.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Must have at leaast 60 credit hours in an accredited field, you can apply on line or go into the local welfare office and obtain an application.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Must be organized, there is massive paperwork. Must have good social skills, quality customer service is a must,you will be working with people all day every day!, You must be flexible, change is inevitable when working with any government agency.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Not particularly but it is required, comprehension is the key, training is provided, laws change states to state.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Make sure it is wwhat you really want to do, if not you will be miserable! You must be compasionate. Be willing to go with the flow, the laws are constantly changing and it is not always for the better.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
It was in the begining but I want to gear more to what I really enjoy.

What are your current career goals?
I want to open up a full service Bridal Boutique!

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
If at any point you see yourself adapting to the negative envionment, GET OUT! Dont become like the “NORM”!

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Family Support Specialist1 yr35000Case load of 13 families, provided early childhood enrichment and outreach support to mothers to be up until their babies first birthday.
Prior Job 2Eligibility Support3 yrs33, 000.00Determine medical eligibility for patients in the hospital.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5Erie Community CollegeHuman Services/Social Science
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
none

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.