Customer Support (Female, Age 51) in Brunswick, GA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 51 who works as a Customer Support in Brunswick, GA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleCustomer Support
Salary$23,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationBrunswick, GA
Years Experience4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work in a call center that is affiliated with a major company. Th size of the company is about 5.000 people and world wide.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I issue refunds and credit. I answer emails for two companies. I answer CHAT when customer’s have questions. When needed I take calls from customers and place orders or answer any questions. I replace items that are defective or that were received wrong.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
20 days paid time off, 10 holidays 5 of which are non core holiday, Blue Shield Insurance, stock with the company.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with others but on my own. I like doing this. It allows me to work at my own pace.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a call center that is in a big building.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 4
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 8

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am
9am to 10am
10am to 11am
11am to 12pmI work from 12 PM to 8 PM. I clock in to work and start my computer up. I read any emails that may have been sent from the corporate office of the two clients I work for. I then start on one client and do any issues needed. The issues can be replacing items that are either defective, sent the wrong size or color or even the wrong size. The issue could be a refund for shipping price or price matching to a web site. Also if a promotion code was used a refund for the code.
12pm to 1pmOnce the issues for both clients have been done I then switch over to answering emails from customers for both clients. Most of the time the emails are either wanting tracking information or refunds for shipping. Sometimes the emails can be information that someone else is asking for like the billing address or even credit card information.
1pm to 2pmDuring all of this I am also answering CHAT for one client. The involve answering questions about sizing or the availability of items. Most of the time the questions are the same thing that can be asked when calling in to us. I do take two 15 minute breaks during the 8 hours I am there. I do not take lunch as I usually want to leave at 8 PM.
2pm to 3pm
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
A friend who worked for the company told me about it.

What was the application process?
Filled out an application then took a test.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes there was an interview with the Human Resource department.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Can’t remember.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes they did. They also provide more training when new things come available.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes. Started by answering phones for various companies. Then once the Customer Support position opened up the people for the company trained me.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
In some ways it did. My ability to type fast and understand office technology does help.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
NA

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Be able to work with the public and understand that the customer comes first. Then contact the Human Resources department to see if any opening are available. They can also check the newspaper want ads.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
The person should be able to move around on a computer. They should be able to work with other people.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
No

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be willing to start at the bottom and work their way up. Be willing to accept help from other’s to understand procedures and policies.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes I will be staying with the company as long as I am compensated for the work I do.

What are your current career goals?
Become a supervisor in the future.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1clerk1 month0Internship for school. Answered phones, filed, made appointments and called patient about appointments.
Prior Job 2Cook/Waitress2 years7.50/3.01Cooked food to customer’s specification, stocked food, prepped food for next shift. Waited on tables, took orders, cleaned.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5Southeast Community CollegeBusiness and Office Technology-Medical
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.