Residential Counselor (Female, Age 24) in Chicopee, MA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 24 who works as a Residential Counselor in Chicopee, MA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleResidential Counselor
Salary$36,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationChicopee, MA
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for Community Health Resources (CHR) the LMHA (leading mental health agency) in parts of northern Connecticut (including Manchester, Enfield, Somers, Windsor, Windsor Locks, etc.). There are roughly 300 employees throughout the agency with bases in Manchester, Enfield, Windsor, etc.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I work with young adults with mental illness and/or substance abuse issues. I teach independent living skills such as cooking, cleaning, budgeting, etc. that my clients need to learn to survive in the “real world” which is generally unknown or misunderstood to them because they have lived in dysfunctional family dynamics or residential facilities under the care of DCF (Department of Children and Families) and did not learn these skills to a necessary capacity to maintain themselves and living conditions to an acceptable condition.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
4 weeks of paid vacation, continually accumulating sick time, BlueCross Health Insurance, Retirement plan, 403b (similar to a 401k), 3 personal days, holiday pay or extra days off, $15.25

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Generally I feel well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
No

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
No

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income:
Benefits:
Hours:
Co-Workers:
Supervisors:
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.