Instructional Assistant-Sdc (Female, Age 55) in loomis, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 55 who works as a Instructional Assistant-Sdc in loomis, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleInstructional Assistant-Sdc
Salary$22,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
Locationloomis, CA
Years Experience11 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a school district that currently has three middle schools and five elementary schools. It emplooys several hundred staff.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I work with the SDC teacher. I go out to mainstream classes with the SDC students and offer support. I also work in the SDC classroom. I teach small groups math and language arts/reading. I assist with lesson plans. I assist the teacher with clearical work, including updating student files, copying, writing letters to parents, keeping journals, ect.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
I currently receive twoweeks paid vacation. I have PERS, and I also have health,dental, and vision insurance. I receive ten sick days a year

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel that all instructional assistants are under compansated for their work. However, in this field, I feel that my district pays fairly.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I work with others on a daily basis. I enjoy working with other people. I feel I would get very bored if I were stuck by myself.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 6
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 5

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I allpied to an ad in the newspaper.

What was the application process?
I had to submit a resume and paper application.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I did have to interview for my position. I sat in a room with a panal of five other people. They each took turns asking me questions, both about myself, and about my experience. They also asked questions to see how I would handle different situations that might come up at the job.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Some of the questions I was asked were: What did I think were my strengths and weaknesses. How would I respond to a parent who wanted me to give them information about their own, or another student? How would I feel about having to change a student who wore a diaper? How would I respond to a student who attempeted to hit/bite me? These were just some of the questions I was asked.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
I feel I should have had much more training than I was given. Walking around with someone, watching them, does not really prepare you for what you have to do. In this field, you are constantly being met with new challenges, and students may act one way for a few days, than suddenly act another way. I feel I would have been much better able to do my job if I had received some basic knowledge about the types of students I would be working with,

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
At the tiime I took my position there was no formal training. However, I did have a short time that I had to shadow another aide and learn what needed to be done.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No. And after I had been in this position for several years, I decided to go back to school and start taking classes that would help me. I strongly recommend anyone entering this field to take classes on children with special needs, classes in pshychology, math, and anything else that will help you.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
NA

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would definately encourage someone to take some courses in college on human development or teaching. Any experience working with children is beneficial. Many I.A.’s in my district get started by becoming yard duty persons.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
You have to have good social skills. I am required to speak with parents and many others on a daily basis. You have to be able to communicate well, yet know your boundries. It really helps to be organized. Many of the children I work with are not organized, and it is part of my job to help them. I need to set a good example. You also need basic computer skills, as you will probably be required to use the computer, both to assist the students, and assist the teacher.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
I started this job with no formal education or training. But I would certainly encourage anyone getting into this job to take classes and training courses if they possibly can. Some school districts require new instruct. assts. to have an associates degree.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
I would encourage you to talk to other teachers and aides and try to get a clear picture of what you will be doing. You should also try to spend some time observing the students you would be working with. In my school, our students have many different types of disabilities, including physical, emotional and mental. Make certain you will be comfortable working with the students you will be placed with.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Definaately part of my career plan now. I really enjoy what I am doing And as I said, I have started taking classes, and would like to get my associates degree.

What are your current career goals?
At the moment, I am going to continue doing what I am doing. But I am seriously considering trying to get my teachers certificate.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I think this is a really rewarding career if you enjoy working with children and you have patience and understanding

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1after school aide1.5 years$9.00hrI worked with children in an after school program. I helped with homework, arts and crafts, and recreational activities
Prior Job 2rehab. tech5 years$11.00hrI worked with clients who had suffered tramatic brain injury and required rehabilitation. I assisted with therapy, transported to appts. ordered medications. I worked with physicians and therapist. Was a liason between staff and family.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5sierra collegeearly childhood education
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.