Clerk Typist 2 (Male, Age 26) in Lewisburg, PA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 26 who works as a Clerk Typist 2 in Lewisburg, PA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleClerk Typist 2
Salary$27,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/WeekI work 37.5 hours a week.
Company Size(not answered)
LocationLewisburg, PA
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for the Department of Public Welfare for the State of Pennsylvania. I work at the Danville State Hospital. This is a Psychiatric facility consisting of approx. 190 beds.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
My duties include, but are not limited to scheduling appointments, entering data, attending minutes, running clinics, and providing secretarial support to many other offices.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
I have medical, vision, dental, prescription.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel I am compensated well at my position.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
My job entails me to have direct contact not only with co-workers and executive staff on daily basis, but also consumers of the hospital.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
My work location is in an office with 2 other clerical workers.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 4
Benefits: 3
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 1
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9amTake messages off of phone. List appointments for the day. Check email.
9am to 10amGo to Social Services Department and prepare for admissions. Get charts ready and make copies.
10am to 11amCall Mobile Xray and schedule Xrays, do Podiatry, Eye, and GMC schedules.
11am to 12pmType PDC letters, meeting minutes and other data entry.
12pm to 1pmLUNCH
1pm to 2pmGo to social Services dept and finish paperwork from morning admission. Do dictations.
2pm to 3pmGo to units and do medical equipment tracking, and make sure things are working properly.
3pm to 4pmFinish undone tasks and make sure everything is ready to be shut down for the day.
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
My father works for the State of PA, so I knew of the opportunies, I took the exam, passed and was offered this job.

What was the application process?
Application process consisted of sending an application into the State Civil Service, awaiting an interest notice, then sending resume into potential employer.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I did have to interview for my current job. Interview consisted of sitting in front of a panel of 3 person who asked numerous questions. I interviewed with my current supervisor, a Human Resources Representative, and a Nursing Representative.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was asked why I was interested in this position, what training I have had that would benefit me in this position, what hours I was available to work, and how I would describe myself.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
I do not feel my employer prepared me as much as I prepared myself with post high school education.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No there was not any training for my current position.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes I do. If it were not for my educational background I would be lost in this position.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Non applicable.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend them to go to www.scsc.state.pa.us and fill out an application and also schedule themselves for the Civil Service Exam.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Person wanting to pursue a position like mine, should have some educational background in Microsoft office and daily office routines. An associates in Business would be of a great value.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
I do feel that some sort of techinical diploma or associates degree in business would be of great benefit in this position.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
I would advise them to freshen up on there computer knowledge and to maybe take some computer courses. I personally got a diploma in Computerized Office Assistant before starting this position.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes it is part of my career plan. The pay is good, and so is the retirement plan.

What are your current career goals?
My current career goals is to continue advancing in my place of employment as rapidly as possbile.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No not at this time.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Laborer6 years6.15 / hrI worked for Burger King as a Cashier, Cook, Maintenance person.
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3McCann School of BusinessComputerized Office Assistant/ Diploma
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)