Owner Of Cat And Dog Nanny (Female, Age 40) in Lincolnwood, IL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 40 who works as a Owner Of Cat And Dog Nanny in Lincolnwood, IL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOwner Of Cat And Dog Nanny
Salary$200,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/WeekAverage is 50+ hours
Company Size(not answered)
LocationLincolnwood, IL
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
This is a small business which provides at home vacation care for cats, boards dogs in cageless environments and walks dogs as well. The organization includes 3 people and is growing.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I care for the pets, market the business, and do the accounting and manage my employees. My main focus is to care for cats while their guardians are away, board dogs in cageless environments, and walk dogs.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
0

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well Compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with my employees as well as the clients. I like having human interaction since most of the day is spent with my furry friends.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 8
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 5
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 1

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I found it out of need. I realized I needed that same service for years. I offered and traded it with friends so I knew the need existed and began to share it with others.

What was the application process?
My application was all the marketing materials I provided to launch my career.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
The interview is ongoing since it is done with each perspective client. It includes explaining what I do and offering referrals to each new person.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
My last interviewer asked what I did before I began this business.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I am guiding my own ship so I did the grunt work to get here.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I spent a lifetime with pets. I walked dogs for other agencies. I have taken pet CPR courses. I volunteer in shelters and rescues. My college degree in business gives me a good balance of left and right brain so I can keep my head above water and be creative at the same time!

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, my educational background gave me the tools to build the backbone of the business.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend that they really like pets with a passion. I would then suggest they begin to work for a dog walking service, or as a vet tech, or even volunteer with a shelter. Then combine the passion, experience and some marketing to start from the ground up. There are lots of people who will look for you if you are sincere and want to do the work which means “playing with animals”.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
The first criteria is not a skill since it requires passion for pets which cannot be taught. Second if that exists, the best skill is organizational to launch a program to bring people to your door. Once you have the clients it is all about social skills to give people the assurance and trust in you to give your passionate care and concern for their furry friend.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
I think having common sense is the first criteria and experience with pets. Second I think having a background in pet CPR and behavioral training are essential. Then one needs business skills to do the less creative side to keep afloat.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
I would suggest that they begin by working for another pet service to get thier feet wet. They need to pick up the dog poop and get the dog kisses all at the same time. Walking on icy sidewalks or 100 degree days are all part of the equation so that experiential side will be important. Network, and participate in volunteer work in a shelter. It is amazing and so helpful.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
It is part of my careet plan. I want to expand and offer more services to more people in the future as I gorw.

What are your current career goals?
My current career goals are to expand my services and client base.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I would recommend it to anyone!

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Business Manager10150KHandled all financial aspects of the sales side of the business. I obtained financial loans, while buying and selling money.
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5LoyolaBusiness
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)