Administrative Assistant 

(Female, Age 37) from Ridgewood, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 37 who works as a Administrative Assistant in Ridgewood, NY. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Administrative Assistant
Salary $65,000
Other Compensation None Set
Company Size (not answered)
Location Ridgewood, NY
Years Experience 10 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
The firm that I work for is Michelle’s Magic. It is a mid size construction company that does all phases of residential and commercial construction.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I answer the phone and direct the caller to who ever they ask to speak to. I file, fax, type, and do anything else that is necessary.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
I have health which includes dental, vision and prescription benefits. I also have a 401K plan.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel I am well compensated.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am I eat breakfast at 7am and I leave my house around 745am to drop my child at school and go to work.
8am to 9am I arrive at work at 845am, I turn off the alarm, hang up my coat and turn on my computer to start work at 9am
9am to 10am I am very busy answer phones at this time. That is usually all I do as it is very hectic.
10am to 11am Here the phones will ring less, and I have time to type letters, file, fax and whatever else has to be done.
11am to 12pm At 11am I usually check to see if any office supplies are needed and order them. At 12pm I go to lunch
12pm to 1pm At 12pm I go to lunch and come back at 1pm so I turn on the answering service to take my calls.
1pm to 2pm At 1pm I work on any letters or forms that will be needed the next day and as usual stay connected to the Internet.
2pm to 3pm At this time I check for any faxes that may have come in.
3pm to 4pm I respond to any faxes and still answer phones.
4pm to 5pm Again answering phones and closing time is 5pm. So at 445pm I start to turn the computers off and put the answering service on and then set the alarm and leave.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.