Office Manager (Female, Age 23) in Wichita Falls, TX

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 23 who works as a Office Manager in Wichita Falls, TX. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOffice Manager
Salary$16,800
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationWichita Falls, TX
Years Experience1 month

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
We are a locally and family owned business that sells furniture and mattresses.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I take payments, create cash sales and contracts for financing, answer the phone, manage the marketing side of the business, and complete anything else office-related that needs to be done.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
I receive 40 hours of sick leave and vacation per year.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I am definitely well compensated at my position.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with customers on a daily basis. I take payments and create contracts. I love working with people so this is a huge plus of my job.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
We are in large, two story building located downtown. I love the huge size and dislike the location because downtown is not currently thriving.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 8
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amN/A
8am to 9amN/A
9am to 10amN/A
10am to 11amI come to work and we start with a devotional and prayer. After that, I start with the computer program. I assess late fees and run any payments I need to. I then check the coffee/tea bar and make any adjustments I need to. I think check our Facebook page and make any changes needed.
11am to 12pmThis is our busy time where I am posting payments and making contracts. I also take photographs of customers and staff and add them to our Facebook.
12pm to 1pmThis is the busiest time so I am continuing to take payments and create contracts or completing cash sales. The phone is usually ringing a lot, so I deal with that too. I am still managing the Facebook page and trying to promote on there.
1pm to 2pmThe store starts to slow down a bit so we usually just sit and chat and cover any ground we need to.
2pm to 3pmIt is still slow so my supervisor might have me run errands, such as getting copy paper or stamps.
3pm to 4pmThis is the time when I close out, get deposits ready, and check all of our totals for the day and eventually leave at 4:00.
4pm to 5pmN/A
5pm to 6pmN/A
6pm to 7pmN/A
7pm to 8pmN/A
8pm to 9pmN/A
9pm to 10pmN/A
10pm to 11pmN/A
11pm to 12amN/A

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
The supervisor is my mom’s best friend and she offered me the job over the phone.

What was the application process?
I did not have an application process at all.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I did not have to interview.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I did not have to interview.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
I don’t feel entirely prepared since a lot of different things have been happening in the middle of training. I don’t know how to do everything I need to do.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I just learned the software program and it was very easy. The program is extremely user-friendly.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I took administrative courses, so it definitely has helped me be more successful.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
I did not do an internship.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend getting an associate’s degree in an administrative field.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
A person would have to have people skills as well as computer skills. The technical side is fast-paced, so a quick learned would be necessary.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
I don’t have a college degree, but I do have 60+ hours completed. It’s not required, but I would recommend it to be very successful and know how to operate a business.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
I would recommend that you give the utmost respect to customers, co-workers, and your supervisor. Listening is a very important skill, as well as patience.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
It is now part of my career plan. I think it is God’s plan for my life and may be part of my purpose.

What are your current career goals?
I would like to rise up within the company and eventually be store manager or co-owner.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Nope!

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Transcriptionist3 months20496I transcribed dictation from doctors and social workers.
Prior Job 2Administrative Assistant9 months7200I was an administrative assistant for the Tech Prep program. I created mailers, completed clerical duties, and answered phones.

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.