Optometrist (Female, Age 41) in Austin, MN

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 41 who works as a Optometrist in Austin, MN. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOptometrist
Salary$105,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week30
Company Size(not answered)
LocationAustin, MN
Years Experience15 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Currently, I am self-employed and contract out to an optical located inside a retail store. There are approximately 150 opticals/stores located from the Midwest to the upper NW of the United States.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I perform eye exams on patients to determine if they need eye glasses or would be candidates for contact lenses or LASIK surgery. All of my patients get a dilated retinal examination for detection of glaucoma, cataracts and retinal diseases such as diabetes, macular degeneration, histoplamosis, etc. I also screen children early to rule out strabismus (crossed-eyes), amblyopia (lazy eye), and color deficiencies (red-green color blindness).

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
I write off all my expenses such as continuing education, travel/hotel expenses to CE, registration and state licensure fees, medical premiums, etc.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well compensated.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
No

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
No

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income:
Benefits:
Hours:
Co-Workers:
Supervisors:
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amAwake.
8am to 9amGet ready for work.
9am to 10amArrive at work to see patients.
10am to 11amContinue seeing patients every 30 minutes for an exam.
11am to 12pmContinue seeing patients every 30 minutes for an exam.
12pm to 1pmLunch.
1pm to 2pmPatient examinations.
2pm to 3pmPatient examinations.
3pm to 4pmPatient examinations.
4pm to 5pmPatient examinations.
5pm to 6pmGo home.
6pm to 7pmEat supper.
7pm to 8pmCheck e-mail.
8pm to 9pmWatch TV.
9pm to 10pmGet ready for bed.
10pm to 11pmFall asleep
11pm to 12amSleep.

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.