Optometrist (Female, Age 31) in fredericksburg, VA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 31 who works as a Optometrist in fredericksburg, VA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOptometrist
Salary$80,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
Locationfredericksburg, VA
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work in a 12 employee private eye care practice

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am responsible for direct patient care

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health insurance, education, free lunches, malpractice

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under!

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with people every day as I am a doctor. I also work closely with my coworkers, techs, product reps, and sales people. I thoroughly enjoy this as I am social in nature

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
not sure what to fill in here

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 4
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 8

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amGot on road, got breakfast on the run, took baby to daycare
8am to 9amDropped off baby at daycare, got to work, checked emails, schedule, had coffee, reviewed the days charts
9am to 10amBegin patient care, do 3 exams.
10am to 11amperformed 3 exams
11am to 12pmperformed 2 exams
12pm to 1pmlunch! read magazine, checked email
1pm to 2pm3 patient exams, finished yesterdays charts, ordered contact lenses2
2pm to 3pm2 patient exams
3pm to 4pm3 exams performed
4pm to 5pm3 final exams, and work day over
5pm to 6pmpick up baby from daycare
6pm to 7pmcommute home
7pm to 8pmarrive home, walk dog, feed baby, cook dinner, check email
8pm to 9pmprepare baby’s bottles for the next day, watch tv, wash dishes
9pm to 10pmput baby to bed, browse internet
10pm to 11pminternet time
11pm to 12ambed time!

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Internet

What was the application process?
Submitted resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I interviewed with the practice manager and managing doctor seperately on one day

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was asked a little about me personally, what my experience and interests are, what are my skills, weaknesses, etc. I really cannot remember detail but it was pretty informal and friendly. Salary not discussed.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, well, school actually properly prepared me for my job! But when I first started my current position we were shorthanded and I didnt get an orientation but was thrown in and had to learn the ropes of the business on my own!

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
4 years of college, 4 years professional school, one year post grad residency. I also went to school during the summers in pro school and had to take 3 boards and a licensing exam. I also need 20 hours continuing education every year.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Goes without saying! could not get this job without special training

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Absolutely! gave me additional skills and practice with seasoned pros to boost my knowledge

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
4 years of college, 4 years of optometry school and 1 year residency. also would recommend working in an eye care office while in high school, college, etc to get experience with patients, eye care, and glasses. that is one thing i wish i would have done before school to get my feet wet!

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Definitely people skills, caring attitude, good listener,hard worker, good at science, willing to work hard, business skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Absolutely

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Read read read every day and keep current on the field. be a good listener to your patients. dont get into too much debt while paying off loans

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, i would like to stay in private pratice during my career, it offers better hours, is respectable, and has opportinity to advance

What are your current career goals?
I would like to make partner at my practice within 5 years

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I recommend it but would not have taken out so many loans in the process

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1optometrist2.5 years96000patient care, quality assurance reports, lectures
Prior Job 2optometrist1 year25750residency in ocular disease, patient care, lectures, clinical rotations, conferences

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.75marquettebs biomedical science
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.5il college of optometryod

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.