Self Employed Artist 

(Female, Age 49) from Lakeville, MN

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 49 who works as a Self Employed Artist in Lakeville, MN. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Self Employed Artist
Salary $50,000
Other Compensation None Set
Company Size (not answered)
Location Lakeville, MN
Years Experience 25 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I am a small one person company (sole artist) though I sometimes contract certain production work helpers. I design and create multi media art and sell my pieces through galleries, art shows and stores. I also do art for Renaissance Festivals through out the country.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I do just about everything in my business. Designing, creating, finding shows, contacting people. Though my daughter is doing my website, gallery and shopping cart for me. And my son in law keeps my computer and the server that my website is on, running.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none. I pay for health insurance for my family. I can not get sick during a show or I lose money!

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I am happy with where I am at. My business is starting to take off now after 25 years of hard work.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

Table of Contents

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.