Actress (Female, Age 32) in Beacon, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 32 who works as a Actress in Beacon, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleActress
Salary$75,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationBeacon, NY
Years Experience16 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for myself, I am self-employed.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Actress in film.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health insurance from husband

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated for time

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with many people, including casting directors, directors, other actors and promotional people. I love my job because I get to meet so many people.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work at home on my computer.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 8
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amSleeping (or if shooting , have an early call time, or workout). Most of the time I sleep until noon, unless i have a morning audition, workout class, or need to be on call for something.
8am to 9amSleeping -again I sleep until 11 or noon most mornings.
9am to 10amSleeping ..Sometimes I get up early to check my email, but most of the time..I sleep until the early afternoon, as I am a night owl.
10am to 11amSleeping or waking.
11am to 12pmWake up and work out. Check emails for any upcoming auditions. Make phone calls. Check web for any auditions. Make lists of people to call, things to do. You have to be very organized to make this career workout.
12pm to 1pmLunch and phone calls, for auditions or confirmation of prior bookings or work.
1pm to 2pmContinue networking
2pm to 3pmNetworking.or afternoon auditions from 2-5
3pm to 4pmGym or networking
4pm to 5pmNetworking
5pm to 6pmDinner
6pm to 7pmContinue online work
7pm to 8pmDone! Watch television or movies as research or go see play in NYC.
8pm to 9pmWatching…
9pm to 10pmWatching television for research for roles.
10pm to 11pmOr reading scripts , to find new roles.
11pm to 12amTV/Sleep I sometime stay up really late reading, or reading scripts. The more tv/film I watch, the more I learn about what works acting wise and who is being cast.

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I find work through my website, and online auditions as well as networking (phone calls)

What was the application process?
I spend many hours networking and auditioning.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I had video auditions as well as in person auditions. I have to reaudition for almost every role that I play. So I interview over and over again.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I am asked about prior projects, and dates of appearances as well as experience.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I had a great education and have a solid base for a great career.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, I have my Bachelors in Musical Theatre, and have had many classes past my Bachelors. I am training in the field at all times by reading and staying up with current films and projects.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I learned the core requirements to be a good actress and find success in theatre and film.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
I never interned.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Scour the entertainment newspapers, online websites, send your photos and resumes out, and network!!!

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Theatrical training, a degree in theatre and music, and an open mind.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
YEs

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Auditon for everything, just to get in front of an audience or camera.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I am pursuing film and television, and always will.

What are your current career goals?
I would love to be cast on an episodic television show for HBO or a popular cable network. I wish also to continue in film as well.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I love it, and wish anyone who pursues acting the best in following their dreams and wishes.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1actress16 yearsfluctuatesI have always worked for myself as an actress, so I have been self employed for many years.
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3SUNY FredoniaBFA Musical Theatre
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
n/a

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.