Technical/IT Specialist (Female, Age 23) in Fayetteville, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 23 who works as a Technical/IT Specialist in Fayetteville, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleTechnical/IT Specialist
Salary$20,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationFayetteville, NY
Years Experience4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a small treasury consulting firm.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am responsible for everything technology-related that goes on in our office, including individual workstations, server and networking, printers and scanners, and telephones. When it breaks, I fix it.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
5 weeks vacation, 4 sick days. No health insurance or retirement.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I think it’s adequate for the amount I work.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Only the people in the office. I like people, so sometimes I feel cooped up with the same few every day.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
It’s a small office. I would much rather be in the field and see more people and environments.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 4
Benefits: 7
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amn/a
8am to 9amn/a
9am to 10amI typically arrive at the office around nine. The first fifteen to twenty minutes is spent being briefed by the office administrator on any unplanned daily events, and checking email. From there I begin work on whatever problems have cropped up overnight–and there are usually plenty.
10am to 11amSince the other employees need to get their work done, fixing any issues they are having is my top priority in the morning. This could be anything from a broken internet connection to installing new printers to software updates.
11am to 12pmOccasionally, when tech things are slow, I’m asked to help the administrative staff with data entry or mailings. This sounds pretty boring, but it’s actually a nice break from what I usually do. I get to talk to other employees and decompress a little.
12pm to 1pmThis hour is my lunch break.
1pm to 2pmOn Wednesdays, the administrative staff, the managing director, and I meet, including a conference call with off-site administrative help. This lasts about an hour.
2pm to 3pmFrom here, I usually work on whatever this current project is til I leave. In the past, it has been anything from researching new servers, to wiping laptop harddrives and reinstalling the OS and setting up for a new user.
3pm to 4pmBy four I typically leave the office.
4pm to 5pmn/a
5pm to 6pmn/a
6pm to 7pmn/a
7pm to 8pmn/a
8pm to 9pmn/a
9pm to 10pmn/a
10pm to 11pmn/a
11pm to 12amn/a

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
A referral from a friend.

What was the application process?
I submitted a paper resume.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had one individual interview with the firm’s manager. It’s a small firm, so there were no other layers to go through.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was asked mainly about my technical skills, but also whether I would be able to work closely with other people in a small setting. There were probably questions about pay, but I can’t remember them exactly.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Nope! There was no position at the company analogous to mine before I started working there. No one, including both my manager and me, knew how exactly my position would work.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Not a bit! I’m entirely self-taught when it comes to computers.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Only in the sense that having a good general education prepares you for any job. I’m glad I’m in school, but my field of study and my job are entirely unrelated.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Learn all you can about computers. It doesn’t take formal education, but it does take time and effort. Most offices like having someone in-house to solve day-to-day issues without having to pay an outside contractor exorbitant fees–just ask around! Send your resume places and see what happens.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Technical skills are the main thing, but being able to communicate abstract technical concepts to a lay audience is really important too.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Not necessarily. I’m a senior in college, but my field is totally unrelated to my job and my actual technical skills are self-taught.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Remember that not everyone knows the same jargon and facts that you do. Sometimes what you think is a simple concept is really weird and intimidating to people who don’t know what you’re talking about. Make it easier for them–use analogies, don’t assume they know, but don’t be condescending or talk down. If you make yourself likable, you’re more likely to enjoy your job.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No. I anticipate changing fields after a few more years of school. I like my job, but I have a hard time settling into one thing.

What are your current career goals?
I hope to finish my degree next year and then go to law school. I’m interested in ethics consulting.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Sales Associate1 year15000Basic retail stuff.
Prior Job 2Census Enumerator6 months$16.25/hourQuality control: followed up with people who did not turn in census forms.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.6

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5Georgia State UniversityBA, Philosophy
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.