Teacher (Female, Age 46) in Bushkill, PA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 46 who works as a Teacher in Bushkill, PA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleTeacher
Salary$50,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week37.5
Company Size(not answered)
LocationBushkill, PA
Years Experience4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
i work at a school for children with developmental disabilities

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
teaching children with developmental disabilities

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
vacation, sick leave, 401k, retirement

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes, and i like it!

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 5
Benefits: 3
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8ami commute into work; it takes me about 20 minutes.
8am to 9ami set up the classroom for the day; take out the projects we are going to work on, talk to the assistants about what we are going to do for the day. Then when the kids come – we all go to the bus stop and bring the children inside. coats and book bags are removed, lunches/snacks taken and put away; the roll call is taken, and the session begins.
9am to 10amthe first session begins – i oversee two classes which run 2 and 1/2 hours long! we break up into groups between the assistants, speech therapists, and i and we get to work.
10am to 11amthe first session continues – it runs just like a regular preschool.
11am to 12pmthe first session ends; the children are put on the bus, and then we go to lunch!
12pm to 1pmthe team goes outside and gets the children for the second session; the same thing happens; coats are put up, book bags taken, and the session begins. these children get a lunch instead of just a snack; otherwise this session is identical to the first.
1pm to 2pmthe session continues; groups are formed and everyone works on the tasks at hand.
2pm to 3pmthe children for the second session are put on the bus and sent home; the assistants work on projects for the next day, and the teacher (me) and speech therapist work on their constant paperwork.
3pm to 4pmat 315pm – everyone goes home!
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
i found an ad in the newspaper, and i applied

What was the application process?
i submitted a resume and my credentials

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
i did interview with the programs supervisor

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
why do you think you would be a good canidate for the position

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
my employer didn’t prepare me – my college education did.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
you have to do student teaching first; its part of getting your degree.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes – i interned with a school specializing in working with children with developmental disabilities.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
yes it did – i knew exactly what i was getting into

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
they have to go to college and be certified in teaching

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
good people skills, good organizational skills, have to be good with children

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
do a internship first to see if you like it.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes – i wanted out of the publishing field, and i should have just gone into what i studied for rather than being in the publishing field!

What are your current career goals?
to continue teaching.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
n/a

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1managing editor3 years16000editing a cancer journal.
Prior Job 2secretary5 years20000secretary to vice president of computer books.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.42mount saint mary collegeeducation
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.