Coworker (Female, Age 23) in St Paul, MN

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 23 who works as a Coworker in St Paul, MN. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleCoworker
Salary$21,395
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week33
Company Size(not answered)
LocationSt Paul, MN
Years Experience4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Worldwide furniture company.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I cook, clean, manage waste, cashier, and conduct monthly inventory.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
3 weeks vacation, sick leave, personal holiday pay, 401k, health and dental

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Most of the time I work with others, but I do have projects where I work alone as well. I like the change of pace this offers.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Kitchen with the occasional office work

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 4
Benefits: 3
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9amI start work by turning on the lights, the ovens, the dough proofer and then filling the buffet wells with water. I take the prepped cinnamon bun dough out of the refrigerator, if it is ready it will go into the oven, if not, it will go into the proofer. Cinnamon buns are the focus of this hour. If I have time I will turn on the soda machine or put the chairs down.
9am to 10amI should have enough cinnamon buns to bring up to the restaurant by 9:15. So I empty my ovens temporarily and bring enough trays upstairs to cover what will be sold for breakfast. I then start my register for the day. By 9:30 I will start the hot dogs in the buffet wells and then I restart baking. All packaged cinnamon buns will be out for customers to grab and go by 10am.
10am to 11amCoworker #1 comes in. We start prepping the samples for the day. Right now this includes brewing tea, but we have also put out cold drinks, cookies, biscuits or even salmon. During this time we also take customers orders, work with the grocery store items and are still prepping cinnamon buns.
11am to 12pmCustomers have picked up a bit, but in my free time I start cleaning one of the two frozen yogurt machines, this is done bi-weekly. The whole machine is taken apart at this time and placed in back to soak. One of us will make a run out to clean the tables and the soda stations. There may be time for some light dishes.
12pm to 1pmCoworker #2 comes in, they are scheduled in the grocery store, but this still provides enough relief that I can go on my lunch break. I wipe down counters and soda stations if time permits.
1pm to 2pmCoworker #3 comes in. I clean the frozen yogurt machine parts and wash the dishes. Coworker #2 goes on lunch.
2pm to 3pmCoworker #1 does the food prep for the night while I put the frozen yogurt machine back together. Coworker #3 mans the register and I help if it gets busy.
3pm to 4pmI go to the office to fill out the waste log for the week. I calculate the total waste and total spent on sampling. It is then posted to show other coworkers how we can improve. After I am done I will close out my register and leave for the day.
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral

What was the application process?
Electronic Application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had two individual interviews

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
It was four years ago, but I’m sure they asked all the generic questions. “How have you saved the company money?” “When have you had to face a difficult situation and what did you do?” etc.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, the training was fun

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, I’ve had a lot of different training over the course of the years, currently I’m working with my managers to learn more about their job.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
It was fine then, but I’m no longer satisfied. If I want a manager position, I feel I will need a degree.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Fill out an applications and be willing to learn.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skills for sales and working with customers/coworkers, being able to multitask, computer skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
I’m getting my BS in Management right now.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I love working for an environmentally conscientious company who are also pro-coworker.

What are your current career goals?
Right now I am in the process of applying for a “Team Leader” position. But I’m flexible and have been applying to any that open up across the country.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I can’t wait to be a manager!

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Sales assistantSix months11150Commission based sales. There were few customers, little benefits and the commute was awful.
Prior Job 2Kitchen assistantTwo years4680P/T minimum wage job with great people working for a charity organization.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2MCTCn/a
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.