Home Care Provider (Female, Age 21) in Los Angeles, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 21 who works as a Home Care Provider in Los Angeles, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleHome Care Provider
Salary$15,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationLos Angeles, CA
Years Experience4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I’m working for an home care agency.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I most take care of elderly patient with their home. Helping them with showers, med., Food, etc.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
None

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Well only with the patient mostly. I kinda dislike the job.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work from the person home. I dislike not have co-worker. Their a day shift and a nite shift. We only talk when one of us is getting off their shift.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 8
Benefits: 6
Hours: 8
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 5
Level of Responsibility: 8
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amDressed; Eat breakfast: On Way to work.
8am to 9amArrive at work and Start by given patient a shower and breakfast.
9am to 10amSign in: Gave out prescription to patient.
10am to 11amPatient Rehab
11am to 12pmLunch
12pm to 1pmPatient Lunch and fun time i.e. board games,etc
1pm to 2pmWalk to the patient to Senior Center
2pm to 3pmSenior Center
3pm to 4pmSenior Center
4pm to 5pmFix Dinner, Write out an report for night shift of the day’s events.
5pm to 6pmWork day end
6pm to 7pmRun the today’s errads
7pm to 8pmFix dinner/ eat diner
8pm to 9pmWatch T.V.
9pm to 10pmWatch T.V.
10pm to 11pmTime to go to sleep
11pm to 12amAsleep

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral from family member

What was the application process?
submitted resume, paper application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
No interview: just referral.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
none

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, just follow a schedule and that all

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No, It pretty simple

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No, It wasn’t the subject I was studying

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Well it simple, all you need is to be CNA nurse and apply to an agency.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
You should have organization skills, time mangement skills, And most of all patience.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Not really, It simple once you get the routine

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
It can be rewarding sometime, and the money is pretty good.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, it will help me pay for college so it is part of my college plan.

What are your current career goals?
To become part-time and return to college

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It has help me reach my goal.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Teacher Aide1 1/2 years20,000/yearWorking close with students, grading paper,copying, faxing, answering phones, etc
Prior Job 2N/AN/AN/ALausd was my frist job.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3n/aBusines
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
N/AN/AN/A

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.