Medical Transcriptionist (Female, Age 33) in Wallace, ID

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 33 who works as a Medical Transcriptionist in Wallace, ID. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleMedical Transcriptionist
Salary$24,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationWallace, ID
Years Experience4 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I am an independent contractor for a company whose size I am unsure of. They handle accounts of large hospitals.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I listen to doctors dictate medical reports and type them up so that they are considered legal documents.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Right now none, but I can change that if I switch to employee status.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel adequately compensated.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work at home connected by AIM to other co-workers. I enjoy the ability to work by myself and yet at times I would like to have a co-worker to chat with or get assistance from.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
My “office” is a portion of my living room with a large hutch desk. I would like a separate room so that I do not have the background noise.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 6
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amI log into my work queue. I take a report and fill in the demographics. I type the file, using google to look up any terms I am uncertain of.
8am to 9amI continue to take file after file and type them.
9am to 10amI continue to take files, type them and return them.
10am to 11amI take an early lunch.
11am to 12pmI continue to take files, type them and return them.
12pm to 1pmI continue taking files.
1pm to 2pmI continue taking files, type them and return them. I am done for the day. I check my line count and make sure that I am where I need to be as far as my schedule.
2pm to 3pm
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Internet job site.

What was the application process?
I submitted a resume, did an objective test and completed a transcription test.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes I did. I had an interview with a nice lady on the phone, communication via email, and then spoke to my account manager and trainer on the phone.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I don’t really remember. Pretty much the basic, what did I want to accomplish, was I willing to work hard, etc.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, as I went into the job with experience. They did give me a good training on their system and explained any questions I had.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Not really. I had worked in the field for a year before receiving this job. The course I took to become an MT was my training.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Absolutely. I feel that the Career Step course was invaluable. I have only a high school diploma other than my Career Step training and think that overall I am very well prepared and able to do my current level of work.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Not applicable.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would highly recommend attending a good school, such as Career Steps, for the appropriate training.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
good organizational skills, good hearing, typing ability, and interest in medical terminology.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Absolutely.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be persistent. Continue to educate yourself on all the changing medical procedures. Work hard and be willing to learn.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. I want to be doing this job for many years. The company I work for pays well, is honest with me, supportive of me, and gives me the experience I need to get to the next step which would be editing.

What are your current career goals?
I want to spend two years transcribing multispecialty reports, get my CMT certificate, continue transcribing for a few more years and then hopefully move into a QA position as an editor.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I absolutely LOVE my job. I love the variation from report to report. I love being able to stay home and work, earning a decent wage. I feel that what I do is important and involves me in work that I enjoy and am very interested in. Every day I learn something new, my empathy is touched and I appreciate the medical professionals more! Thanks!

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1transcriptionist1 year.07 a lineTyping medical reports for an orthopedic account.
Prior Job 2driver, helper2 yearsmin. wageI drove a Meals-on-Wheels vehicle delivering food to homebound seniors. I also worked in the kitchen doing food prep and stocking the supplies. I also worked in the main lunch area setting tables, serving coffee, setting up soup, coffee, dessert and salad bars. I then helped clean up after the meals.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.