Cafe Server (Female, Age 22) in brooklyn, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 22 who works as a Cafe Server in brooklyn, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleCafe Server
Salary$12,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
Locationbrooklyn, NY
Years Experience4 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for Barnes and Noble Booksellers. It is a large nationwide bookstore chain.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
prepare cafe foods and beverages and ring up customer orders.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
absolutely not.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes, i do work with others on a daily basis. i can tolerate my coworkers, but working with, or should i say as a slave to, customers, is the most abhorred part of my job and my life. i have no respect for 95% of them, and this is because they do not treat me with any respect whatsoever. i consider this not only a personal offense, but also an indicator of a disgusting, depressing attitude of obliviousness and unearned entitlement in most of the people i encounter.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a server aisle, behind a counter in a cafe, all day long.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 7
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 6

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
i walked in and inquired about it.

What was the application process?
paper application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes. one individual interview with a store manager after a phone call.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
what i liked and disliked about my last job, what skills and unique qualities i feel i can bring to this workplace, etc.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, it’s easy.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes; company policy and procedures, drink preparation, and basic cashiering skills.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, it doesn’t really require any education past maybe fourth grade math.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
fill out a paper application, which one can pick up at any barnes and noble customer service counter.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
a person should have basic change-making skills and, ideally, skills in dealing with customers/extremely stupid people.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
no. although someone who is intelligent will obviously do the job better and faster than someone who is not.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
don’t take it home with you.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
it is (poorly) supporting my life at the moment, so in a way, i suppose it’s part of a plan.

What are your current career goals?
current career goal: find a career goal.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
right now, it sucks.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1AmeriCorps Corps Member10 monthsabout $8,000member of a program which sends teams of young people to work with non-profit organizations around the country for 6-8 week long projects in the fields of education, environment, unmet human needs, and disaster response
Prior Job 2server1.5 years$2,500 plus tipswaitress.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.3SUNY GeneseoPsychology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.