Federal Officer (Male, Age 27) in Columbus, OH

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 27 who works as a Federal Officer in Columbus, OH. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleFederal Officer
Salary$46,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationColumbus, OH
Years Experience4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for the United States Department of Homeland Security. We have over 40,000 US citizens working for us in the US and thousands more overseas. I train TSOs (Transportation Security Officers) in how to do their jobs in a day-to-day setting.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Training, classroom training, on the job training, research and development.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Full Health with dental and vision. Retirement from the Government and TSP (Thrift Savings Plan, like a 401k)

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel that myself and those I train should be paid a bit more since we do not have competetive pay.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with the traveling public. This has good and bad sides as you are dealing with people under stress and pressure in an airport. I like helping and knowing I have made a difference but at the same time I hate bearing the attitudes of those people.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 1
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amI have already been at work since 4:00 am. I have setup the machines for the day and briefed the lower level officers. I cannot tell the details of what I do but I will have been handling many tasks since the start of the morning.
8am to 9amQuick lunch and back to the floor.
9am to 10amTraining classes.
10am to 11amPaperwork for the end of the day needs to be done.
11am to 12pmSlow time, talk with co-workers about the day.
12pm to 1pmHead home on the shuttle bus to the parking lot.
1pm to 2pmOff the clock.
2pm to 3pmOff the clock.
3pm to 4pmOff the clock.
4pm to 5pmOff the clock.
5pm to 6pmOff the clock.
6pm to 7pmOff the clock.
7pm to 8pmOff the clock.
8pm to 9pmOff the clock.
9pm to 10pmOff the clock.
10pm to 11pmOff the clock.
11pm to 12amOff the clock.

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Newspaper.

What was the application process?
Resume, physical, drug testing, vision testing, background check.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
3 Interviews, roleplaying scenarios, physical tests, vision tests, and background checks.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Not at first because I was one of the first people to do my job since it was a new branch of the government.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
There is six weeks of training and then new training almost every single day.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Hardly, I am use to dealing with computers not with people.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Make sure to keep a clean background, no drug usage, and a desire to help. You can apply for my job on our government website.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
You need social skills and the ability to put up with angry people, high stress, and lazy co-workers.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Some college or experience in law enforcement or military.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Take it one day at a time and remember you are doing an important job for very important reasons.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, a job with the Federal Government gives great benefits and plans for moving forward.

What are your current career goals?
To just have a job that gives me the option to live comfortable and feel like I have contributed something.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Network IT2-3 years$50,000+Working for several military and government groups installing computer networks.
Prior Job 2IT Spec.1 year45000Entry level IT with BankOne.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.2Ohio StateMicrocomputing
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.