Media Manager (Female, Age 24) in San Rafael, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 24 who works as a Media Manager in San Rafael, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleMedia Manager
Salary$30,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week30
Company Size(not answered)
LocationSan Rafael, CA
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for ABC at a local station in the top 6 market. It’s a large corporation under the umbrella of the Walt Disney Company. We produce televised media.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I manage all media used in all phases of production that might pass through the hands of the editors. I archive video materials, secure space on hard drives, burn and rip discs, and assist the editors. I work for 3 shows, 2 of which are off-shoots of the main live, daily broadcast talk show.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
1.5 weeks vacation, 1 week of sick leave, basic insurance and health benefits

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated, but the work environment makes up for it.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes. I like my coworkers a lot, so working with them daily makes it a most pleasurable experience. My work doesn’t pay enough to deal with unpleasant people. I also work ind3ependently often, so it’s a nice mix of social and not.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in an office, attached to a studio. My current work keeps me quarantined to a cubicle area made up of editing stations, but leading up to this position I I worked more in the studio.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 5
Benefits: 8
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 1

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral

What was the application process?
I was in the right place at the right time and knew the right people to get to this company. To get this job I was promoted and posessed the necessary skillset.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
No. I met with my supervisor as a formality and to fill out paperwork, but since I was hired on referral it didn’t matter. Positions here don’t open up often, so when they do, they go to interns.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
N/A

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I held several positions before this one, and all led up to my preparation for this one.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, I went to a private 4-year university. Did it actually prepare me for this job? Not entirely. I consider myself a fast-learner and was able to take what I’ve learned in other positions and apply them readily.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
YES. I learned appropriate technical skills necessary for my job, and the wherewithall to ask the right questions.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
I wasn’t an intern at my work, but prior internship experiences DID help.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Intern. The best way to learn what we do, is to watch the people doing it. Most of the people in my position and higher, started out as interns. You cannot intern however if you can’t receive college credit, so indirectly I suggest kids go to school for film/tv or anything really. It’s a job where people of many backgrounds can bring something to the table. But passion is necessary to make it a lifestyle and not just a hobby.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Passion, organizational skills, social skills, technical skills… this job requires someone that can do it all and be it all. You have to have a strong memory and attention to detail to prevent files from being lost and organizational skills to keep track of everything. Timeliness is important because half the battle of my job is getting things done on time, and showing up on time.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, education is helpful, training is imperative.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Read, research, shadow… it’s best to go to school to understand the mechanics of all jobs in the field, as well as experience to learn the how-to. People don’t make much money in this field. It’s like being a musician… the select few that make it big make big money, everyone else tends to scrap to make a living. Therefore, you really have to love what you’re doing to make it worthwhile.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes- They help me learn new skills and provide new contacts.

What are your current career goals?
I’d like to produce/direct documentaries and teach college classes for part of the year.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.93Film/TV production
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.