Elementary School Teacher (Female, Age 40) in gardena, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 40 who works as a Elementary School Teacher in gardena, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleElementary School Teacher
Salary$52,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
Locationgardena, CA
Years Experience6 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a smallish public school district in Southern California

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I teach reading and math to children who have difficulty learning

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
10 days sick leave, HMO, vision, dental, and summers off

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I think it’s fair

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I teach children and work with other teachers. If I didn’t like working with people, this would have been a very poor choice.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 5
Benefits: 7
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 1

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Another teacher in my district introduced me to my principal

What was the application process?
Initailly, I gave the principal my resume. Eventually there was a mountain of paperwork, including fingerprint clearance and TB test

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I interviewed with the principal, conducted a sample lesson, met with district personnel

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
It was a long time ago

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
My employer did not, the university did somewhat better. Mostly it was sink or swim

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Requires a teaching credential. Additional schooling post BA

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I’ve had a great deal of education, and it has given me the background to teach the children

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
You need a teaching credential, which requires additional education beyond a BA.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
A huge amount of patience, flexibility, multitasking, social skills, organizational skills.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
You must really understand the material to be able to teach it to children. and you need a teaching credential.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Work as a substitute for several months before you take a full-time position

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
I don’t have much of a career plan. This position is a good entry-level teaching position.

What are your current career goals?
I don’t think I’ll stay in the classroom forever, but I hate the idea of administration. I don’t know what I’ll do next.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Training Program Coordinator2 years36000Arranged training programs for non-profit organizations
Prior Job 2Office manager2 years34000Ran company providing test prep for MFCC candidates

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.78StanfordHistory
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.9UCLAHistory

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.