Administrative Asst/Webmaster/IT 

(Female, Age 43) from mentor, MN

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 43 who works as a Administrative Asst/Webmaster/IT in mentor, MN. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Administrative Asst/Webmaster/IT
Salary $34,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location mentor, MN
Years Experience 5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
We are the grant recipient and administrative entity for the Workforce Investmant Acct (WIA). Small business. We assist persons in gaining work experience, classroom education and other way to assist them in becoming product and self sufficient individuals in today’s workforce.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
You name it I do it, all secretarial duties, light bookeeping, event planning, webmaster/IT staff person, work with clients, receptionist, etc.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
vacation and sick only

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
due to the fact that there is no medical offered, I feel under compensated in that way. Financially well compensated.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
My job does entail working with others on a daily basis. I enjoy it, would not enjoy a job where you never spoke or interacted with another person

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
office with three other businesses. for the most part like, dislike the clicks

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 5
Benefits: 6
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am begin work at 7:30, from 7:30 to 8:00 attempt to figure out why my computer crashed.
8am to 9am 8:00 – 8:15 speak with local computer guru to attempt to get my computer to turn on. 8:15 – 8:30 drive and bring in hard drive to local computer expert. 8:30 set up laptop so that I am able to work today.8:30 – 9:00 read and respond to emails
9am to 10am 9:00 create radio and newspaper advertisement for change of local office hours. email newspaper and radio stations with advertisement and types of advertisement. 9:30- create packets for council members that were not in attendance for last weeks council meeting. email council members to notify them of packet being mailed, photocopy, stuff, address and stamp packets for mailing.
10am to 11am 10:00 review last two months of payments to verify bill has not been paid for subscription. create and authorize voucher for payment. Authorize and print out payment vouchers (over 50 participants ) requests for tuition billing for program participants for summer session. Photocopy in three fold, distribute to appropriate staff, make progress notes in participants files (webbased system)
11am to 12pm 11 still authorizing printing, distributing payments for tuition. 11:30 lunch until noon
12pm to 1pm noon – uninstalled and reinstalled printer on boss’ computer. finished tuition payments. purchased a case of peaches from a co-worker, not work related, but did share some with the boss. continute to type minutes.
1pm to 2pm minutes completed by 1:44. convert to pdf and post on company website. worked on website adding new py scheduled and information about council members.
2pm to 3pm went on break to local hallmark store to pick up some cards. also to flower shop to place orders. one Council member slipped and hurt herself and another had a death in family. this is also my break. 2:30 begin order for youth council awards banquet for 150 attending youth. Meeting at 2:45 to discuss details for a career day seminar. This meeting is with executive director, youth staff, youth council members and tech prep coordinators.
3pm to 4pm The career day seminar is an informative and detailed meeting to coordinate a meeting for school youth counselors, youth mentors, youth staff, high school principles and other school staff to assist in directing youth in occupations in demand in the local area.
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
was at the “unemployment office” for at least 30 hours a week. I now work in the same “unemployment office”

What was the application process?
submitted resume, completed a paper application prior to interview then interviewed

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, interviewed with the executive director

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I remember that there were two questions that I had to respond with “I have absolutely no idea what you are talking about”

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
one of the main reasons I enjoy my employment so much is the open access and freedom to ask “dumb” questions to my director without feeling like a moron. He has always had time and patients

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
in some ways, because of the diversity, yes.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
get lucky, that is what I did…okay just kidding. Be willing to be flexible with your job description/duties. A go getter, willing to take responsibility and inative

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
serious organizational skills, learn quickly, social skills as we work with all different “levels’ of individuals. From homeless, newly released inmates to local legislators and senators

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
research and be willing to constantly learn

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
it is now –

What are your current career goals?
to be the best at what I am

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Program Operator 2 years don’t remember crp, gis program operator
Prior Job 2 asst store manager 14 years 36000 day to day operations of grocery store

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.8 Crafton Hills n/a
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.