Case Manager (Male, Age 44) in Pearland, TX

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 44 who works as a Case Manager in Pearland, TX. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Case Manager
Salary
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size (not answered)
Location Pearland, TX
Years Experience 10 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
It is a HMO insurance company that receives clients/members from state insured people that are on disability due to injury, mental disorder, and etc. The insurance company cover benifits for Medicaid and Medicare clients.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I go out to the clients’ home and assess them for Medicaid benifits such as, home provider service, emergency response system necessity, and other covered benifits.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Life Insurance, 401K. 3 week paid vacation, short term disability

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I am under compensated in my current position

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
My duties mostly consist of going out to clients’ homes and assess them for Medicaid benifits. I like that I am out in the public and dealing the clients on a firt hand basis. I don’t like the hassle of having to look and find the clients out in the community.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I have a home office, but I do go into the office once a week for meeting and turning in paperwork and assessment of clients for record keeping. But for the most part I am out in the field, going to clients homes and assessing them for benifits.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Waking up and preparing for work (showering,dressing, etc).
8am to 9am I start my work day by trying to call clients from a list of clients to schedule them for assessing them for Medicaid benefits. All clients have ID # associated with their name. I with that ID # I can pull up the basic demographics an attempt to contact them.
9am to 10am Continue to make phone calls to scheule appointments to come out the completed the assesment. The clients informantion my not be accurate in the data basis that I have access, I may have to find alternate companies to we as an company partner for fully serve the mbr in order to get update information on clients.
10am to 11am I then drive to clients home that was successful in establishing communication and schedule home assessment. I have to drive my own personal vehicle, which I am reimburst for milage.
11am to 12pm Once I get to the clients home I knock on their door and once they answer, I explain who I am and reiterrate why I am there and what I will need to completed the assessments.
12pm to 1pm The items that I need to see are the cleints ID documentation (drivers license, Medicaid care, and/or company issued ID card). I then asked for client to show me all prescribed medication that there are currently taking.
1pm to 2pm I also ask cleints to tell me all doctors that they are seeing medically (Primary Physician, Pyshiatrist, Dentist, Pediatrist, and etc). I document in this info on the assessment forms.
2pm to 3pm The assessment form is a 20 paper questionaire concerning the cleints past, present and if possible future health. The first set of questions are asking about their basis information (Name, address, age, Medicaid ID, and etc).
3pm to 4pm The rest of the assesement I ask questions related to their health or disabiltiy. What are their diagnosis (diabeties, High Blood Pressure, Arthritis, Mental issues, depression, schizophrenia, etc).
4pm to 5pm One of the reason I have to go out to the cleints home is to observe them in thier environmnent and visually see what they can and can not do for themselves. I try to observe how thier disability has impacted their life, what try to get aid to of set the debilitating disfunction.
5pm to 6pm Afer complete the assessment, which takes about 2 hours to complete. I am required to complete 4 assessment per day. I turn in all documentation into the main office on the one day that is considered the in office for computer documentation, and attend in office meeting.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I recieved a referral for my job.

What was the application process?
I submitted my resume, completed a paper application, and had several in-person interviews

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had two interviews, the first was with HR, then the other was the director of my department and my supervisor.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
They asked me to go into detail about some specific things from my work history.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
No, the training was not suffient in preparing me for the documentation process or the field work assessments and get all done in a timely mannor that is set by the company. The company did not aid me understand or helping with time managment with all the responisiblities and expectations of duties assigned.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, I had to be trained on the assessment process and well as documentation/record keeping process. The assessment forms are stated regulated, certain procedures have to noted and followed to ensure that the client is being assessed with the proper a information in order to determine if they will be eligible for the services.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I have Bachelors degree in Psychology and a recieved my licience in Social Work, and currently working on obtaining my Master degree in Counseling. I have to work with community and as well have knowledge of computer systems, and my educational backgound and current has prepared for my current position.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes, I have had internship with working in the community.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
A person would have to have a bachalors or master degree in Social Work with licensure, or LVN nurse, or RN NURSE. And have case manager experience, commputer skills and community knowledge and experience.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
A person must have some skills and knowledge of working with a computer system, due to all info has to be computer logged and uploaded into a record keeping data basis. Social work skill due to working with the community and going to clients environment and aiding and assisting in thier community.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, at list a Bachalors Degree

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be prepared to work beyond your adverage 40 hour work week.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No, I want to be a Psychologist.

What are your current career goals?
To obtain my Doctorate in Psychologist and work down clients that are suffering from inability to deal with life as they see it. AS well as teach on a collegic level.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No, not at this time.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Case Manager 7 years 40000 I case manage kids that was placed in my company care from the state when their home life was not suitable for living. I had to monitor and aid thier progress in the foster care system.
Prior Job 2 Supervisor 1 1/2 yr 24000 I monitor and supervised a group of counselor that were in charge and oversee the care and daily activitiies of kids from agae 12 to 17 that was place their due to criminal behavior.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.5 Prairie View Psychology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.5 Prairie View Counseling

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.