Assistant To Center Administrator 

(Female, Age 44) from newark, DE

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 44 who works as a Assistant To Center Administrator in newark, DE. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Assistant To Center Administrator
Salary $23,800
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 37.5
Company Size (not answered)
Location newark, DE
Years Experience 10 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Child Development Center. We are a school that provides an academic environment for children ages 2-12. We are non-profit and have a staff of approximately 30. We offer preschool, full day care, half day care and before and after school care for school age children in our comunity.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I manage the office paperwork and provide support to the center administrator

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks paid vacation

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel I am under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes i work with many other people on a daily basis. Some days it is good, other days not so good. Some of them do not do not do their fair share I feel and that is when I feel distress, but for the most part it is a good feeling I have for my co-workers

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I really enjoy working in the office and I still get a chance to work with the children as well which is nice.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 7
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am
9am to 10am (Thursday)Arrive at work, sign in and drop off personal items in my office. I go down to the kitchen and set out offsite afterschool snacks for two sites and then return to office. I check in with my center administrator for anything pressing that needs to be done today. Pull folios out of basket for each classroom and clear them of items that I need to address. Start to process this information.
10am to 11am Finish processing information from folios and then do attendance sheets for the next week. Put neccessary information back into folios and return to classrooms.
11am to 12pm Return phone calls as needed. Check and respond to e-mails.

Talk to parents and help teachers if needed.

12pm to 1pm Assist with lunch duty with the children, help the children with opening packages, taking them to the bathroom etc. Then help with clean up and outside/inside play time before they continue with their structured academic time.
1pm to 2pm Return to the office and continue with office duties such as processing paper work, answering phones, returning phone calls, making copies and setting up agendas for the center administrator. From 1:30 – 2:00 I have my lunch break.
2pm to 3pm At 2:00 I return to the office and get the keys to the center’s van and go to the local middle school and pick up 6 children that are in our afterschool program and bring them back to our center. We return at about 2:30. They put their belongings away, wash up and I give them a snack and they relax and eat and chat.
3pm to 4pm Around 3 they do a physical activity either inside or outside with me until round 3:20 when another staff member relieves me and I return to the office. i then resume my office responsibilities. I check in again with the administrator to see if she wants me to finish up a particular project or activity. If yes I work on that project till I leave at 5.
4pm to 5pm If not I will work on projects that are ongoing in the office. Such as updating files, emails, phone messages,

qualifications and working on grants and funding for the center. My day is over at 5. Through out my day I am in contact with my administrator on an ongoing basis in person and by cell phone, I am also moving through the building on a regular basis collecting information, relaying information, making copies, answering security doors and such. Very busy all day long!

5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
paper application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
no….already knew the owner

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
sorry don’t know

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
My previous boss to some extent yes. My current boss( same employer) definitely did.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I have had to have extensive training for the child care portion of the position. In my state the licensing regulations are quite strict on what has to be done to qualify to be in a particular position. Many hours of training initially and yearly continuing training are required.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
My educational background prepared me for the office part of my position, but it did not prepare me for the child education part of this position

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
In my state they would have to take early childhood classes as well as some bussiness classes. They would need to be flexible and personable and would have to respect confidentiality.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Would need organizational skills as well as the ability to be very flexible. Would need to be able to think on their feet and would need to be able to multi task well. We deal with a lot of different kinds and types of people and need to be delicate.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
be dedicated and patient

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Original it was not part of my career plan but in this current economic climate I have had to make changes to my thinking. I have stability at my current job. Even though I don’t feel I get paid enough, I do have a stable position.

What are your current career goals?
I really am not sure at this point. I am revamping my whole thinking on this right now and can not give a straight forward answer. I am staying put where I am for now and the forseeable future, but if the economic climate changes then my career goals will probably change

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Bakery Manager 2 years 12.50 per hr Scheduling of staff, ordering of product, baking, decorating, product management. Product placement and advertising.
Prior Job 2 Body Shop 1 year 8.25 per hr Stocking of shelves and helping customers. Cash register

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3 Widener Business
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.