Career Counselor 

(Female, Age 51) from Gary, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 51 who works as a Career Counselor in Gary, NY. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Career Counselor
Salary $31,450
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Gary, NY
Years Experience 3.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a major university at one of the smaller branch schools. Our current student population is around 5,000 students. We are a four year school, providing a few associate degrees but mostly Bachelors and Masters degrees.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I counsel students undecided as to a major; go over career assesments; assist students, alumni and public with all job search issues including resumes, cover letters, job searching and mock interviewing; over-see a federal student work program; and present with regard to all of these duties in classrooms on campus, as well as to the general public.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
30 hours of paid time off beyond holidays, health insurance including medical, dental, mental health, retirement plan

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Somewhat under based on other universities

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I constantly work with others every day and I love it. I would not be happy if I didn’t have a good deal of interaction with others daily.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in an office. The only thing that I dislike about my working location is that I don’t have a window to look out. But, I am lucky enough that my department has windows, so I need only go into the main office suite to get that visual stimulation.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 2
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 5
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 1

Table of Contents

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.