Administrative Assistant 

(Female, Age 46) from Zebulon, NC

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 46 who works as a Administrative Assistant in Zebulon, NC. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Administrative Assistant
Salary $49,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Zebulon, NC
Years Experience 6 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a small lawfirm of approximately 12 employees that specializes in Education Law.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
My duties include typing, filing, drafting, scheduling trips, meetings, depositions, court hearings.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
3 weeks vacation, 2 week personal, 401K, profit sharing, BCBS health insurance, dental insurance, vision insurance, life insurance.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes I work with others on a daily basis. I normally like this unless I am busy and someone keeps trying to talk to me me, then I get frustrated.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 3
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Travel to work.
8am to 9am Meeting with attorneys to discuss ticklers and play for the workday.
9am to 10am Update files, pleadings, correspondence. Prepare deposition summaries.
10am to 11am Work on file to determine outstanding work to needed to effectuate a proper case filing.
11am to 12pm Work with client in an attempt to obtain all documentation necessary in order to properly respond to discovery.
12pm to 1pm lunch
1pm to 2pm Return telephone calls from morning.
2pm to 3pm Meet with attorneys to see what or what has not been accomplished for the day and what work is outstanding.
3pm to 4pm Draft legal pleadings, discovery responses, and call client regarding same.
4pm to 5pm Make list of outstanding work and prioritize and organize same for morning. Clean desk and prepare to go home.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
Submitted resume via email

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. I had to interview with the firm administrator, then with both managing partners.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I don’t remember.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. My employer was very thorough in describing my job duties when offering me my position.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes. I attended a junior college and received my degree in liberal arts and sciences. For a few of my electives I took legal secretary courses and obtained my secretarial certificate. Then, I took courses in paralegal studies and received my certificate. I had to draft legal pleadings and documents, learn how to research case law, learn basic applicable laws relating to being a paralegal.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. My education prepared me to produce quality work and helped me understand the legal termonology needed in my field.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would suggest that someone wanting to get into my line of work to make sure they can type, operate a computer and various office applications proficiently, take courses and get a certificate in paralegal studies.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Typing – 80 wpm or higher, proficient in Microsoft office applications, writing applications, researching case law, be able to prioritize work and be able to work under stress, when needed, be able to follow orders peecisely.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Take you time and make sure you put our quality work instead of quantity. If you don’t know how to do something, don’t fake it, ask. Your actions could be very detrimental in a lawsuit. Make sure to keep any attorney/client privilege information strictly confidential.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?

What are your current career goals?
To stay where I am until retirement.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Not really.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 legal assistant 6 years 48000 Typing, filing, telephones, drafting of legal documents, legal research, court filings, court scheduling, scheduling of business trips and meetings.
Prior Job 2 Legal Assistant 3 years 24000 Typing, filing, telephones, drafting of legal documents, legal research, court filings, court scheduling, interview clients, meet with clients to prepare them for trial.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.85 Morton Jr. College Liberal Arts and Sciences
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.