Technical Group Leader (Female, Age 45) in Tempe, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 45 who works as a Technical Group Leader in Tempe, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleTechnical Group Leader
Salary$80,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationTempe, NY
Years Experience15 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
World wide organization responsible for manufacturing chips for computers and other electronics.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Manage engineers and technicians in manafacturing environment; duties include various projects related to success of team and area.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
4 weeks vaca, med/dental/vision insurance, 401K, stock options

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Women are still payed less in semiconductor manufacturing and most industries as an average.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes. I enjoy working with others.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Wafer fab, cubicle, home. I enjoy the fab (factory floor) but find the cubes stuffy. Enjoy working from home.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 6
Benefits: 7
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 1

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral

What was the application process?
electronic resume, phone interview, regular interview, offer

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, interview with multiple persons

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
technical, management/leadership related

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
some

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes, management, leadership and technical training and classes along the way

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, degree in history but experience with research/communication/writing skills… background in customer service industry, experience in manufacturing in college

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
none

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Engineering degree.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Engineering degree, technical skills. Once you have the position, social and organizational skills will enable a person to continue to grow and improve.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be prepared to put in more than forty hours a week ona regular basis.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
no

What are your current career goals?
Move into the natural health industry

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
There is nothing.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Supervisor5 yearsSupervisor in Semiconductor Manufacturing
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
The Defiance CollegeHistory
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
University of PhoenixMasters in Organizational Management

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.