Financial Assistant (Female, Age 41) in Henderson, NV

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 41 who works as a Financial Assistant in Henderson, NV. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleFinancial Assistant
Salary$95,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationHenderson, NV
Years Experience6 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a private local firm taking care of their financial and accounting needs

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
investigating and completing clients taxes and tax returns

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
medical and retirement

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I am very comfortable with my wages

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes but it is a small firm and we are just like family

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
office in town centrally located

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 5
Benefits: 6
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 1
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amprepare to go to work
8am to 9amdrive to work
9am to 10amlooks over daily tasks and ledgers
10am to 11amdiscuss todays plans
11am to 12pmwork work work
12pm to 1pmlunch
1pm to 2pmappointment time with clients
2pm to 3pmappointment times with clients
3pm to 4pmcomputer work preparing statements
4pm to 5pmgo home
5pm to 6pmhome
6pm to 7pmhome
7pm to 8pmhome
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pmhome
10pm to 11pmhome
11pm to 12amhome

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
a friend told me about the position

What was the application process?
personal interview and then they looked over my resume and called a few of my references

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes 2 interviews

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
what do you expect from us

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
definitely but also needed the skills I learned at school

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I have two years of college and continue my courses of education

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes it did

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
not applicable

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
know the right skills and know the right people

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
love to play with numbers and figures

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes, I have a degree in business

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
go to school

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes

What are your current career goals?
doing exactly what I am doing. enjoying working and getting paid very well

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I am glad that this is the path that I choose

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1assistant2 years100000assistant to the director of the company
Prior Job 2assistant2 years80000assistant to the director

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3UNLVbusiness
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.