GIS Specialist/Geological Tech (Female, Age 43) in Andrews, TX

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 43 who works as a GIS Specialist/Geological Tech in Andrews, TX. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleGIS Specialist/Geological Tech
Salary$70,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationAndrews, TX
Years Experience4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a medium sized oil and gas company based in Birmingham Alabama but with field offices in other states. We employ around 100 people.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I create geologic surface and subsurface maps, oilfield maps, maintain the well database for this region. I work with geologists and engineers to manage data.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
20 personal days, 401k matching, bonus, ppo health insurance,

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with others in my office, primarily engineers and geologists. I am support staff and love working with others.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in an office in a nice complex. My drive is 45 minutes each way and thats the only thing I don’t like.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 4

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.