(Female, Age 32) from Michigan city, IN

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 32 who works as a Cook in Michigan city, IN. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Cook
Salary $8,000
Other Compensation None Set
Company Size (not answered)
Location Michigan city, IN
Years Experience 2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a buffet restaurant. My job is to make omelets on the weekends and produce baked goods on Friday’s.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I make omelets and other breakfast foods, I bake cookies and cakes, maintain the desert bar, and a prep cook.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am
9am to 10am 9:30 am open bakery. Decorate all products,put together ice cream machine, and take the temperature of all food on all food bars.
10am to 11am Restaurant opens at 10:45. I replace any food they take and receive a list of goods to make.

Check bakery food bar. Replenish what ever has been taken.

11am to 12pm Bake 6 carrot cakes, 4 chocolate cakes, and 4 yellow cakes.

Keep an eye on that bakery bar.

12pm to 1pm Bake 3 pans of brownies, 4 trays of chocolate chip cookies, 3 trays of sugar cookies, and 2 trays of sugar free chocolate chip cookies.

Make 4 Krispy cereal treats, 6 sugar free jello, 10 red jello.

Check bakery bar.

1pm to 2pm Make 6 cheese cakes, 1 bus tub of whip topping,1 bus tub sugar free topping, and sugar free chocolate mousse.look at bakery bay.
2pm to 3pm Replace any partial product on bakery bar. Put portions of partial product on plates on bar.

Clean bakery for next shift.

Take break from 3:30 till 4:00

3pm to 4pm Start breakfast prep.

Portion out bacon.

Cut smoked sausage.

4pm to 5pm Cut mushrooms, onions, and green peppers for omelets.

Gather ham, sausage crumbles, and bacon bits for omelets.

5pm to 6pm Make French toast mix, pancake mix, and garlic toast.
6pm to 7pm Shred potatoes for hash browns.

Clean up mess.

Clock out and go home.

7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.