Receptionist (Female, Age 48) in Southgate, MI

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 48 who works as a Receptionist in Southgate, MI. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleReceptionist
Salary$27,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week42
Company Size(not answered)
LocationSouthgate, MI
Years Experience13 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
We are an envelope/letterhead printer and manufacturer with approximately 95 employees and have been in business (family-owneded) since 1985.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
answering ad directing telephone calls, dealing with walk-in customers, data entry, mail sorting, recording timesheets, filing.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
medical and dental

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes; I sometimes do not like this because you deal with so many different personalities.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
office – love the fact that it is 10 minutes from home! Great location; parking available.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amon way to work
8am to 9amfiling; mail, phones
9am to 10amphones, data entry
10am to 11amdata entry, phones
11am to 12pmphones, data entry, filing
12pm to 1pmlunch
1pm to 2pmenter orders; phones, filing
2pm to 3pmenter orders; phones
3pm to 4pmfiling; enter orders; phones
4pm to 5pmphones; check e-mail
5pm to 6pmleave office
6pm to 7pmn/a
7pm to 8pmn/a
8pm to 9pmn/a
9pm to 10pmn/a
10pm to 11pmn/a
11pm to 12amna

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral

What was the application process?
paper application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, I met with the CEO of the company; mostly we spoke about my prior experience.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
how long I had been in the business world; what my interests were; what my future goals were

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, very well.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, I was trained on the way our phone system worked.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, but more computer training would have probably gotten me a higher salary.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
not applicable.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
graduate from high school; take business courses

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
organizational, social, computer, grammar

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
high school diploma

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
the customer always comes first!!

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes

What are your current career goals?
staying with same company for a few more years and then moving out of state.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Admin. Assist.7 years22000secretary to several social workers, typing client notes, sending out foster payments, answering phones.
Prior Job 2Exec. Secretary7 years19000clerical support for the Director of the agency; board meeting minute-taking; typing, phone, schedule appointments;

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
n/an/an/a
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
n/an/an/a

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.