Senior Field Clerk (Female, Age 60) in Philadelphia, PA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 60 who works as a Senior Field Clerk in Philadelphia, PA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleSenior Field Clerk
Salary$52,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationPhiladelphia, PA
Years Experience39 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
The company is Verizon and we are all over the United States. We install telephone lines and fix telephones. We also install Fios cable for tv and computer use. I work in the absence administration office.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I make sure all absences for each day are reported and put into our computer system. When the employee comes back to work I record it in our system and then send out a letter to his foreman and he has to cover it with the employee. He has to return the letter signed to me. I keep a daily log of all the letters sent out and received. If the employee is out more than 2 times in a year he is put on disciplinary action. I also file all the letters. Zerox papers and other duties in the office.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
6 weeks vacation, full health benefits (eye & dental too) life insurance and a retiremnet plan. No sick time,but if you are out you get paid for it according to how many years you have with the company.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I am very well paid for what I do.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with 3 other girls and 3 supervisors, but interact with a lot of people on some days. I like working with the people that are in our office.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a small office in the out skirts of the city. There is wildlife there ( deers, groundhogs and geese) that makes it so enjoyable to me when I see them. It is only 20 minutes from my house, so that is a big plus.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 5

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I heard there was a job opening and I called up for the interview. They said there wasn’t anything now, but wold keep my name on file. After 2 months I called again and this time they said to come in for an interview.

What was the application process?
It was just a typing and aptitude test.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I went in to the office and saw the boss and he asked me some questions and asked me if I would like to work there. I told him yes.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Just questions like what I liked to do and could I type and file. It was a quick interview.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
My supervisor is great. She explains everything to me if I don’t understand and she told me everything that my job entailed when I first came on the job.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
It was on the job training. One of the girls showed me how and what to do. Then I took a short computer training class.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Somewhat. I took up clerical classes in high school.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Put in an application at the main office. Keep checking on your progress with getting an interview.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Good clerical skills. Also you should be an organized person and be able to follow directions and be able to do all the work each day that is given to you.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
No. Just be as correct as possible.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Keep on top of all the paper work and ask questions if you don’t understand something. Don’t be afraid to make mistakes.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. I will be here till I retire.

What are your current career goals?
To retire in about 2 or 3 years.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1clerk3 years20000office duties
Prior Job 2

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.