Makeup Artist (Female, Age 25) in statesboro, GA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 25 who works as a Makeup Artist in statesboro, GA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleMakeup Artist
Salary$40,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
Locationstatesboro, GA
Years Experience1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I do makeup (what i love!) for a living. And that’s just putting it simply. It’s a local makeup company, but they’re getting bigger! 🙂

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
doing makeup which includes makeovers, appointments, talking about and selling products and etc. hmm..cleaning display areas anddd generally being a people person if that counts!

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
eh, some med and dental. it’s nice though!

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I like that it helps me stay busy and I’m around people and friends all day doing something that I love. The thing that I don’t like though, is that people can get very pushy when they don’t get EXACTLY what they want..even they’re the reason they didn’t get what they wanted..if that makes any sense.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I’d say I work very well with my coworkers and all. They’re all in the same age range and are definately sweethearts!

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 6
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 5
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amI was still sleeping at this hour (thankfully). I didn’t go in until around 9am.
8am to 9amI was getting ready for work, putting on my (cute) uniform and whatnot. I went in around 9am and got right to work organizing my area.
9am to 10amAfter I was finished organizing and cleaning my area, I kind of hung out until I had some customers and I mostly helped out with picking out products and recommending different makeups.
10am to 11amAt 10:30 I had an appointment to do a girl’s hair and makeup for an event. I had a really good time since she had a lot of similar interests. It was a very formal event so I really got to dress her up. This took almost an hour.
11am to 12pmOnce I was through with the appointment, I had 2 women come in for facials in which I mostly just assisted my coworker with since I still had a good little bit of customers trying to buy products.
12pm to 1pmI finally got from behind the counter and that register again and got to do a walk-in makeover. I love doing these because I get to experiment and pretty much do whatever I recommend to the customers. They almost always enjoy my work too!
1pm to 2pmThe rest of the day sort of dragged on. I mostly rung out customers and helped them with any inquiries they may’ve had.
2pm to 3pmMore purchases, nothing hands-on. I don’t like days like this. I like to be in there and be doing something, not just helping the customers.
3pm to 4pmFinally, I got to do something. But aw, it was a haircut. This is why I want to work somewhere that SPECIALIZES in makeup. It’s not fun doing all of this stuff. Makeup is my favorite thing to do!
4pm to 5pmAlright, the day’s over, I finish up my work, clean up my area, say goodbye to everyone and I’m out. And that sums up my day!
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Newspaper.

What was the application process?
paper application (and interview)

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I sure did. It took one interview with 2 of the head people and it actually went very smoothly!

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I don’t remember. It’s been a while.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I do. She let me know just what to expect and even gave a little training, so I felt she prepared me well!

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes. There was 2 weeks of some little beauty program (which, I personally believed I knew what it included before, but whatever) and a couple days of prepping and whatnot. That’s all though.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I think it helped me more than that of which my employer did, which doesn’t sound like it’s saying alot, but it is. I think it furthered my knowledge about my career and I’m very thankful for it.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I’d say to first enroll in cosmotology school or at least take some classes or get SOME type of education in the makeup field and then try to get a little hands-on experience. After that, it shouldn’t be too hard to find a job either freelance or working for a company.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
A lotttt of social skills. Why? Because you’re around people all day! Yes, organization skills helps a ton too. You have SO many products to manage and it can get a little hectic if you’re not an organized person. Other than that, just be friendly, be you, and practice your skills!

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Eh, it depends on where you want to work.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Practice, practice, practice! It’s the key in bettering your skills and yourself and learning how to work in this type of environment. Also, look up what you’d like to learn and try to achieve that look!

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, it is, because I plan to do this for the rest of my life and this is just part of getting there. I’m gladdd to get experience!

What are your current career goals?
Further my knowledge in makeup and expand my career into different areas. Possibly work for a larger company (which = more pay).

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Not really, thanks for asking though!

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Makeup artistabout a year30kI do beauty routines for customers. This includes makeovers, appointments/events, facials, hair, and etc.
Prior Job 2freelance makeup artistabout 4 months15k or lessI did makeup on my own for a while and got paid. It was fun but didn’t pay nearly enough.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.4UCVAEsthecian
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.