Graphic Designer (Female, Age 22) in Wyoming, MI

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 22 who works as a Graphic Designer in Wyoming, MI. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleGraphic Designer
Salary$25,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week30
Company Size(not answered)
LocationWyoming, MI
Years Experience6 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Central Wesleyan Church – church

Holland Rescue Mission – homeless shelter

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I design all media materials and keep the website updated and maintained.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes; I prefer to buckle down and work sometimes, but other times, I like the social aspect. I don’t like to be bothered with questions, but I like having conversations.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Office; you spend all day sitting and don’t get to see outside. Which is no good.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 6
Benefits: 1
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 2
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 8

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
References

What was the application process?
Submitting resume, interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes; mostly I just met with the person who was to be my boss – one at the office, one at a coffee shop.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Experience, education, things like that.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes; my skills fit the position, so I was prepared.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No; just getting used to the positions, but no real training.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes; all the things I learned in college are highly applicable.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes; I worked at a bank, which gave me great experience, and my other internship turned into a job.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Go to school! Don’t be self taught!

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
You must be artistic and organized; knowing the programs is not enough.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, definitely.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be patient; you’ll start slow. Don’t take criticism personally, learn as you go.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
I would love to continue working at the shelter, but I’m tired of working at the church.

What are your current career goals?
I’m hoping to get another part time job, so I can keep my position at the shelter but have more hours.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Nope! 🙂

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Graphic Designer6 months$10/hourI designed media material.
Prior Job 2Barista9 months$7.50/hourI made coffee, sandwiches, etc.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.9

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5Grand Valley State UniversityGraphic Design, BFA
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
NANANA

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.