Diesel Mechanic (Male, Age 26) in Chicago, IL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 26 who works as a Diesel Mechanic in Chicago, IL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleDiesel Mechanic
Salary$55,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationChicago, IL
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for the Pace: public transportation company as a diesel mechanic. The company operates public transit buses throughout the Chicago suburb area. We have 17 different hubs or locations throughout Chicagoland. To the best of my knowledge, my company employs about 4,000 employees.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
As a diesel mechanic, I review different maintenance problems that may arise and occur with a specific transit bus. I sweep and clean the inside, I run the transit bus through the car wash, I go through all basic diagnostics regarding bus operation; including filling washer fluid, replacing window washers, checking oil levels, checking coolant system, tire pressure, brakes, etc. I review the problems and go forward to resolve an issue and fix the problem.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
3 Weeks Paid Vacation, 10 Sick Days, Blue Cross/Blue Shield PPO Health and Dental Insurance.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I currently feel well compensated at my current position.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, my job includes working with other mechanics with diagnostic problems and operations on a daily basis. I enjoy working with people; so therefore it is something I really do enjoy about my job.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 3
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 8

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I found my current job through the company’s advertising in the newspaper.

What was the application process?
The application process was that I submitted a resume, then a paper application, then a interview with the shop supervisor, then a 2nd interview with the location manager, and if all this went through smoothly; then I took a drug test and went through a backround investigation, then I got hired and trained.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, the interview process entailed is explained as in the above question.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Why do I want to work in this profession? What expierence do I have? What inspires me in this profession; and what do I enjoy about it. Why do I want to work for this company.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
I feel that my employer did some effort in preparing me for my job. They assisted me with any question or unsure aspects about the procedure. I was relied heavily on my education and knowledge I learned from it.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
There was minor training for my current position. It was built upon what I learned through my school training and education. I was assisted if I wasn’t sure of something, and from there taught about the procedure.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I feel that my education background really prepared me for my job. I learned about the different aspects, how to diagnose problems, and how to fix the problem. I would be where I am without this valuable education.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend them check out different mechanic schools in their area; check out the programs and school recognition. When attending school, try to find one that has a curriculum of at least 50% hands-on instruction. This method of approach is very important, because the hands-on approach offers a clearer understanding of the position.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
I feel that if a person would like to pursue a position like mine, they definitely would need to have a interest in mechanics or auto repair, technical skills are a plus because half of today’s work is integrated with computers and electronics.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
In this position you would need at least a technical degree in diesel mechanics, which is an associates degree. Also when the degree is completed; then a few years of training and working in the field helps for the individual to be successful in their job.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
The advice I would offer them is that if they are really interested in this line of work, then for them to listen attentively to other experts about the field; so that you may learn some useful information. Also to apply yourself 110%. This line a work should be your passion, a love for your work.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
My current employment helps provided a foundation towards my career plan, because it helps me learn about the different aspects of the job, then to learn about how to become better in this job.

What are your current career goals?
My current career goals are to continue learning about new procedures, continue fixing the vehicles, and working towards a management position in the field, or owning my own shop.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
N/A

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Oil Change Specialist1 Year23000I was responsible for checking the oil gauges in different customer vehicles; and then go forth in the process of emptying and changing the oil in the vehicle.
Prior Job 2Auto Parts Specialist3 Years16500Working within the retail store; receiving parts and supplies, ringing up customers, customer service, delivery of parts to different auto shops,

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.19

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.75UTI-Universal Technical InstituteDiesel Mechanics-Associates
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.