Assistant Group Supervisor 

(Female, Age 21) from Springdale, PA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 21 who works as a Assistant Group Supervisor in Springdale, PA. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Assistant Group Supervisor
Salary $16,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 25
Company Size (not answered)
Location Springdale, PA
Years Experience 5 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
A small day care with about 10 staff and about fifty children.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
take care of children, play games, read stories, change diapers, feed children.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, i do enjoy it most of the time.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
in the building, i enjoy that we can take the children outside yet it is too much work for how little i am paid.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 8
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 6

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
My mother brought home an application

What was the application process?
filled out application, had an interview.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, one interview with the director. it was very informal individual interview.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
what hours i was available, if i enjoyed children, and what prior experience i had with children.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
no, there was no training, i am still getting yelled at for things i was never told about.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
no, not really just a brief over view on what to do on my first day.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
no, i had only babysat before which is very different.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
not applicable

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Have prior experience, even babysitting.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
social skills, patience, and should be a generally caring person.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
know before hand that the job is tough, do not sell yourself out or let them take advantage of you because they will.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
no, I am just happier with a more professional type job.

What are your current career goals?
To be an attorney

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
just be careful. i am sure other facilities are very different from mine, and would be a lot of fun.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 work study 1 semester 7.25 per hour worked as a work study, an office hand, made copies, answered phone, filed papers
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.4 Community College of Allegheny County Paralegal
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.